Southwestern Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Absolutely love this salad and could eat it everyday! It tastes extremely fresh and I love the addition of the feta. Only suggestions would be to add 1/2 a fresh jalapeno if you want some heat. 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
My Family LOVED this dish! I used 1/2 cup regular quinoa & 1/2 cup red quinoa and cooked it with vegetable broth and substituted vegan butter. (We have a vegan in our family.) I added 2 minced jalapenos, cut the lime juice down to 5 Tbsp, added 1 1/4 tsp Cumin, added 1/4 minced yellow and orange peppers, substituted grape tomatoes cut in half, & and omitted adobo seasoning. I served it with 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese on side (for our vegan family member). I did mix the dressing separately and then added to veggies/beans/quinoa. When I went to get some the next day, it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
LOVE love loved this salad!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very yummy side dish. I reduced the amount of lime juice by half and added yellow and orange peppers instead of green bell pepper. It was a hit at a family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made the recipe as written - using the adobo seasoning recipe on this site. Everyone loved it. I had to make a second batch because my son ate all the left overs before anyone else could have some. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is phenomenal!! I used tri-color quinoa since that's what I had, but everything else remained as written. This is fresh, healthy, and a great way to get lots of vegetables with a great punch of flavor. We ate this as a main dish and will have it often. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added a jalapeno pepper, I think next time I'll use two. I didn't have abodo sauce, but I did have some chipotle hot sauce. I added three tablespoons of that to the recipe because I like things spicy. It was delicious. I also cooked the quinoa in beef broth because I didn't have chicken broth. Furthermore, I used green onion instead of red onion because that's what I had laying around. I also added two cloves of minced garlic. Finally, to make it more colorful, I used red bell pepper instead of green. It's not exactly to the recipe, but really close and definitely a repeat. This may become a staple in my recipe book. This was my main course tonight and it filled me up perfectly. Not to mention I have plenty of leftovers for the rest of the week for my roomie and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This has become one of my go to recipes that we eat frequently. It is so delicious and anyone I've ever made it for loves it, even my kids. I don't put the corn, salt/pepper or the adobo seasoning in it and it still tastes amazing. I served it as a side dish with ham and green beans for Christmas for a healthy twist and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This calls for too much dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Yum! I just had this for lunch and it was excellent. I followed the recipe except left out the butter to reduce fat and left out the corn because I was out of it and didn't want to run to the store. I have saved this recipe and will be making it again. Thank you Texas7127 for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States