Southwestern Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I made it to bring for lunches during the week and added diced avocado and turkey to the top of it in order to make it a main dish. It lasted in the refrigerator for the whole week and I looked forward to eating it, which says a lot since I also love eating out for lunch. Adding the avocado and turkey breast is not necessary - the recipe is great without it. It tastes fresh and is packed with flavor. The recipe will be regularly made in my household and has already been passed along to inquiring co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevalgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Great salad! Wish I would have doubled it to have for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I loved the flavor of this recipe! The feta was a fun addition, too. However, I'm only rating the recipe with four stars because of the instructions. It is necessary to COVER the quinoa while cooking. Besides that, I enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe! I used the whole amount of lime juice and did not have adobo seasoning, so I added cumin, garlic powder and paprika- very good! I will absolutely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe for the most part, except I omitted the bell pepper. The adobo seasoning (I made my own) really adds flavor. I dont see the point in toasting the quinoa so I just cooked it the "regular" way. I used lemon juice instead of lime juice because that is what I had. I served it warm/room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I didn't give this a 5 because it is much too salty. I used 1 c. broth and 1 c. water. I would also recommend using 1/2 - 1 teaspoon Adobo - or omit it altogether. The feta contains enough salt to flavor the whole salad. I would also cut back on the lime. With the vinegar, it's a bit overpowering. I LOVE the flavors of this salad though. Just a little tweaking is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
this is amazing! I will be making this often. I made this exactly as written...the only thing i will do differently next time is use 1C chicken broth and 1 C water...no need to add additional salt. There was plenty of salt between the broth & Adobo seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
If you use bottled lime juice, cut the amount down to about a third of what is called for (I cut it to a quarter cup and it is still quite sour). Also, use another reviewer's suggestion of cooking the quinoa in half stock/half water - mine got quite salty after cooking in the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious!!! I didn't even have adoba seasoning and it still turned out fantastic...just like the black bean and quinoa salad they make at Whole Foods but better. I used orange pepper instead of green. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States