Southwestern Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I just tried Quinoa this week for the 1st time at a restaurant...enjoyed it so much that I thought I should find some recipes to try at home...This was the first one I found and I made it today....I "forgot" to make the quinoa in the chicken broth and it still came out DELICIOUS!! I wouldn't change anything else about the recipe. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Made this for a work potluck and it went over very well. I love this dish. Fresh tasting and yummy. I added a jalapeno, used veggie broth for so it was truely meatless and used Ricotta Salada cheese in lieu of Feta. Whole Foods carry this cheese and it was very good. Highly Recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaceDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rydal, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
A great salad! I made some changes. First, as a vegetarian, I substituted the chicken broth with vegetable broth instead. I also added 1/2 cup sweet red bell pepper (diced). I cut the lime juice down to 1/4 cup. Whenever possible, I use heirloom tomatoes (my favorites so far have been hillbilly and cherokee purple). Sometimes I use red quinoa or rainbow quinoa for visual effect. I often stuff it in pita bread for a filling on-the-go lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
So fresh and flavorful! Made this for a church picnic and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I loved this- with some changes....I added a dash of balsamic vinegar and garlic powder to the quinoa as it cooked. I used a red pepper, orange pepper, red onion as my veggies. I used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and omitted the olive oil. I combined all of the ingredients (except feta cheese) with the balsamic vinegar/lime juice and let it sit overnight. Just before I served the salad I added the feta cheese and two ripe avocados (I chose to leave out the cilantro). Added the juice of one more lime, another dash of balsamic and it was good to go. It was excellent! I think letting the salad sit for awhile (overnight) is important for the flavor. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Made this for a tailgate side dish. Everyone liked it, easy to prepare, omitted the cilantro and feta cheese, and used veg. stock for my vegetarian peeps. A nice light side dish for summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Healthy, wholesome, festive looking, was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Made this for a BBQ and got rave reviews. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I made it to bring for lunches during the week and added diced avocado and turkey to the top of it in order to make it a main dish. It lasted in the refrigerator for the whole week and I looked forward to eating it, which says a lot since I also love eating out for lunch. Adding the avocado and turkey breast is not necessary - the recipe is great without it. It tastes fresh and is packed with flavor. The recipe will be regularly made in my household and has already been passed along to inquiring co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevalgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States