Southwestern Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
All I could taste was the lime, and I only used 2/3 of what the recipe called for. I didn't see one reviewer's note about using a third if using bottled lime juice until the deed was done. Aside from that, the quinoa grain is so small that I thought it didn't stay nice and separated ... Kind of mushy. Maybe I'd like better within couscous instead. Probably wont try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Absolutely love this salad and could eat it everyday! It tastes extremely fresh and I love the addition of the feta. Only suggestions would be to add 1/2 a fresh jalapeno if you want some heat. 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
My Family LOVED this dish! I used 1/2 cup regular quinoa & 1/2 cup red quinoa and cooked it with vegetable broth and substituted vegan butter. (We have a vegan in our family.) I added 2 minced jalapenos, cut the lime juice down to 5 Tbsp, added 1 1/4 tsp Cumin, added 1/4 minced yellow and orange peppers, substituted grape tomatoes cut in half, & and omitted adobo seasoning. I served it with 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese on side (for our vegan family member). I did mix the dressing separately and then added to veggies/beans/quinoa. When I went to get some the next day, it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
LOVE love loved this salad!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very yummy side dish. I reduced the amount of lime juice by half and added yellow and orange peppers instead of green bell pepper. It was a hit at a family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made the recipe as written - using the adobo seasoning recipe on this site. Everyone loved it. I had to make a second batch because my son ate all the left overs before anyone else could have some. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is phenomenal!! I used tri-color quinoa since that's what I had, but everything else remained as written. This is fresh, healthy, and a great way to get lots of vegetables with a great punch of flavor. We ate this as a main dish and will have it often. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added a jalapeno pepper, I think next time I'll use two. I didn't have abodo sauce, but I did have some chipotle hot sauce. I added three tablespoons of that to the recipe because I like things spicy. It was delicious. I also cooked the quinoa in beef broth because I didn't have chicken broth. Furthermore, I used green onion instead of red onion because that's what I had laying around. I also added two cloves of minced garlic. Finally, to make it more colorful, I used red bell pepper instead of green. It's not exactly to the recipe, but really close and definitely a repeat. This may become a staple in my recipe book. This was my main course tonight and it filled me up perfectly. Not to mention I have plenty of leftovers for the rest of the week for my roomie and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This has become one of my go to recipes that we eat frequently. It is so delicious and anyone I've ever made it for loves it, even my kids. I don't put the corn, salt/pepper or the adobo seasoning in it and it still tastes amazing. I served it as a side dish with ham and green beans for Christmas for a healthy twist and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This calls for too much dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States