Southwestern Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
I'm glad lots of you love this recipe - I do, too! I *always* use less oil, and lots more lime juice for extra flavor. Sorry about the confusing way the pasta quantity was posted - use only 8oz of pasta for the recipe! The flavors really are better if you can make it a day ahead, but I usually end up adding a little more salt the next day... somehow it disappears overnight. Use ditalini pasta if you can find it - lots of surface area to soak up the dressing, and very pretty! I think it's hearty enough to eat as a main dish, or you could add some grilled, cooled chicken. Top off the meal with a slice of cold Margarita Pie, and your tummy will be VERY happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This is EXCELLENT! For those who have commented that the salad is "too dry," please be sure that you are following the recipe correctly. A typical box of rotini is about 1 pound...enough to double the recipe. If you use a whole box, then you should double the sauce too! I will be taking this pasta salad to a cookout tonight and I know it will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
My entire family loves this recipe!!!! I made a few changes. I put 1 1/2 T Chili Powder, 1 t cumin, 1 t chipotle chili powder, 1/4 t cayenne, 1 t dried cilantro, 1 t salt, 4 garlic cloves, 1 can diced green chilies, 1/2 c red onion, and 3 shredded chicken breasts to make it a main dish. I also reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and increaded the lime juice to 1/2 cup. YUMMY!!!!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
I enjoyed this recipe. I added a chopped, sweet onion, subbed a can of (drained) petite diced tomatoes for the fresh romas, and added a few chopped green onions and trippled the amount of cumin. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Liked this; added a teaspoon of sugar because this helps intensify the flavors; also helped bring out the natural sweetness of the corn, black beans, tomatoes. Went well with burgers. Very pretty presentation and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made some modifications to this recipe. I added a block of diced spicy pepper jack cheese and 3 green onions. I did not put tomatoes in at all. And I substituted the fresh red and green peppers for a 12oz jar of roasted red pepper. Super Yummy! I think I'll add more crushed garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This was fantastic as is!!!! I was worried about the amount of chili, but it was fine. Fresh cilantro and fesh tomatoes are a must. I made this recipe with canned tomatoes and dried parsley because thats all I had and it was very good. The next time I used fresh and it was so much better. To make this a main dish I served it in corn tortilla "bowls" on a bed of shredded lettuce, topped with grated cheddar cheese and a dollop of fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I think the red chili powder quantity should read 2 TEASPOONS and not TABLESPOONS. Otherwise, the salad was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe. It is DELICIOUS! Many of my vegetarians want the recipe. It is different, has a little "kick" to it, but not too spicy. I am definitely going to bring this to many cookouts this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I really wanted to like this, it has all the flavors I love, but sadly, I wasn't a huge fan and most of it got thrown out. Thanks for the recipe anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEBERRYJILLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States