Southwestern Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
I'm glad lots of you love this recipe - I do, too! I *always* use less oil, and lots more lime juice for extra flavor. Sorry about the confusing way the pasta quantity was posted - use only 8oz of pasta for the recipe! The flavors really are better if you can make it a day ahead, but I usually end up adding a little more salt the next day... somehow it disappears overnight. Use ditalini pasta if you can find it - lots of surface area to soak up the dressing, and very pretty! I think it's hearty enough to eat as a main dish, or you could add some grilled, cooled chicken. Top off the meal with a slice of cold Margarita Pie, and your tummy will be VERY happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This is EXCELLENT! For those who have commented that the salad is "too dry," please be sure that you are following the recipe correctly. A typical box of rotini is about 1 pound...enough to double the recipe. If you use a whole box, then you should double the sauce too! I will be taking this pasta salad to a cookout tonight and I know it will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
My entire family loves this recipe!!!! I made a few changes. I put 1 1/2 T Chili Powder, 1 t cumin, 1 t chipotle chili powder, 1/4 t cayenne, 1 t dried cilantro, 1 t salt, 4 garlic cloves, 1 can diced green chilies, 1/2 c red onion, and 3 shredded chicken breasts to make it a main dish. I also reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and increaded the lime juice to 1/2 cup. YUMMY!!!!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
I enjoyed this recipe. I added a chopped, sweet onion, subbed a can of (drained) petite diced tomatoes for the fresh romas, and added a few chopped green onions and trippled the amount of cumin. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Liked this; added a teaspoon of sugar because this helps intensify the flavors; also helped bring out the natural sweetness of the corn, black beans, tomatoes. Went well with burgers. Very pretty presentation and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made some modifications to this recipe. I added a block of diced spicy pepper jack cheese and 3 green onions. I did not put tomatoes in at all. And I substituted the fresh red and green peppers for a 12oz jar of roasted red pepper. Super Yummy! I think I'll add more crushed garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This was fantastic as is!!!! I was worried about the amount of chili, but it was fine. Fresh cilantro and fesh tomatoes are a must. I made this recipe with canned tomatoes and dried parsley because thats all I had and it was very good. The next time I used fresh and it was so much better. To make this a main dish I served it in corn tortilla "bowls" on a bed of shredded lettuce, topped with grated cheddar cheese and a dollop of fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I think the red chili powder quantity should read 2 TEASPOONS and not TABLESPOONS. Otherwise, the salad was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe. It is DELICIOUS! Many of my vegetarians want the recipe. It is different, has a little "kick" to it, but not too spicy. I am definitely going to bring this to many cookouts this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I really wanted to like this, it has all the flavors I love, but sadly, I wasn't a huge fan and most of it got thrown out. Thanks for the recipe anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEBERRYJILLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States