Southwestern Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was an Okay pasta dish but not my favorite. I just didn't care much for the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Davis-Rokusek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I took this to a picnic worried it wouldn't suit many peoples taste buds, but was pleasantly surprised by the reaction! Everyone loved it and asked what was in it. Black beans are hard to find in Australia and no one at the BBQ knew what they were and wanted to know all about the recipe. I ended up using a packet of taco seasoning mix as that was what was in my pantry and it worked great. Making another batch as we speak and will continue to make it for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Looks pretty, has exciting ingrediants but it tastes very bland! I served it at my son's mexian themed birthday party and it was barely touched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is one of the yummiest pasta salads I have ever eaten! The lime juice, fresh garlic, cilantro, and chili powder combine to make a zesty and tasty sauce. The addition of black beans and veges make it really healthy, too. There is freedom here to add any number of different vegetables to really pack it full vitamins. I used Radiatore pasta (it's like 3 ruffled layers) and that shaped really held the sauce in. Follow the instructions about how much pasta to use. The suggestion ofadding grilled chicken is great. With or without, it can be a meal in itself. It's only been 5 days since I made it and I am making more now as I write this. Hats off to the Chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was a great recipe! I'm always looking for no-mayo pasta salad recipes since I'm not a fan of a lot of mayo. In addition to black beans I used chick peas to punch up the protein and flavor. I like spicy so I used quite a bit of chili powder. And from a diff pasta salad recipe I've used I knew and reviews I read that said this could tend to be dry I used low-fat Italian dressing for flavor and to help mix everything well. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
The combination of black beans, corn and cilantro always goes over well in my family, so we enjoyed this recipe. I made it as written and served it with grilled chicken. It was a nice light and easy dinner. My family has asked me to make this again so it will be put in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was okay, but not out of this world. Very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Berg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Took this and 4 other salads to my niece's briadal shower and this was the big No Seller. Not sure why, but no one seemed to like this salad. I thought the taste was okay, but I will admit as we were cleaning up it was the one bowl I tossed rather than saved to bring home. I stink at modifying recipes, but am thinking possibly a smarter cook would know how to tweak the dressing which was heavy on seasoning, but low on flavor - meaning I could taste all of the seasonings and spices in there, just don't know that they tasted good in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is excellent. A little diced purple onion and a can of sliced black olives are wonderful additions - maybe some cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very good! I had to make something for a potluck and I was tired of the boring Italian pasta salad. I was drawn to this one because of all the colors! I doubled the recipe, added a few jalapeños to give it a bit more kick and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States