Southwestern Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Wasn't that impressed with this dish. To be fair, I was looking for a light, summery pasta dish with some flavor. Flavor this had though :) I even kicked it up a bunch with some chipotle seasoning. Used seashell pasta and a can of drained diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomato. It's a good side for a mexican dish if you want a change to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Was looking for a new pasta salad, this was great! Only sub I made was olive oil for veg oil (used a little chili infused oil as well) and skipped the cilantro b/c my husband hates it. I bet it would be even better w/ the cilantro!! I will make this over and over.....could also serve this with diced avocado and shredded cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
On the day I made this recipe, the spices were overwhelming, however, after sitting overnight they definitely mixed well and were toned down. It is unlikely I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
If you like this kind of salad, try the Mexican Bean Salad, has a bit more zip to it. I have made it several times and always goes over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I think this would do better with more cumin and but it was still a great hit at a barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
It just wasn't as tasty as we expected. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I thought this was quite good and the lime really added to the dish. Loved the black beans and corn! My husband, however, hated it. So I won't make it again, but I'm glad I tried it. I did dice up my garlic and cilantro and I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was an awesome salad. I love fresh black bean salsa and this has a similar taste. I agree with reviewers that suggested increasing the lime juice. I had to double the dressing amount as I used 1 lb of penne pasta. I only used red bell pepper. When it came to the dressing...I mixed the oil, lime juice and spices in a bowl and whisked them all together. This way, I added the chili powder 1 tbsp at a time and tasted until it was to my liking....which is spicey! Wonderful salad..I am sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The recipe is a good base to start with, but I tweaked the spices a bit for my tastes and added some different veggies (what I have on hand), and it comes out great each time...the sauce is really a good and healthy alternative to the mayonnaise pasta salads, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good dish - just as is. The flavors are great the first day and even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States