Southwestern Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
It was good. I decided to cook the peppers a little because fresh peppers are a little too crunchy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Wasn't that impressed with this dish. To be fair, I was looking for a light, summery pasta dish with some flavor. Flavor this had though :) I even kicked it up a bunch with some chipotle seasoning. Used seashell pasta and a can of drained diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomato. It's a good side for a mexican dish if you want a change to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Was looking for a new pasta salad, this was great! Only sub I made was olive oil for veg oil (used a little chili infused oil as well) and skipped the cilantro b/c my husband hates it. I bet it would be even better w/ the cilantro!! I will make this over and over.....could also serve this with diced avocado and shredded cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
On the day I made this recipe, the spices were overwhelming, however, after sitting overnight they definitely mixed well and were toned down. It is unlikely I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
If you like this kind of salad, try the Mexican Bean Salad, has a bit more zip to it. I have made it several times and always goes over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I think this would do better with more cumin and but it was still a great hit at a barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
It just wasn't as tasty as we expected. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I thought this was quite good and the lime really added to the dish. Loved the black beans and corn! My husband, however, hated it. So I won't make it again, but I'm glad I tried it. I did dice up my garlic and cilantro and I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was an awesome salad. I love fresh black bean salsa and this has a similar taste. I agree with reviewers that suggested increasing the lime juice. I had to double the dressing amount as I used 1 lb of penne pasta. I only used red bell pepper. When it came to the dressing...I mixed the oil, lime juice and spices in a bowl and whisked them all together. This way, I added the chili powder 1 tbsp at a time and tasted until it was to my liking....which is spicey! Wonderful salad..I am sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The recipe is a good base to start with, but I tweaked the spices a bit for my tastes and added some different veggies (what I have on hand), and it comes out great each time...the sauce is really a good and healthy alternative to the mayonnaise pasta salads, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States