Southwestern Green Chile with Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I roasted a bone-in pork loin for about two hours in a clay cooker with onions and peppers, then simmered it in the broth for about two more hours until the meat fell off the bones...it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Delicious! Definitely one of the best pork stew recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this recipe using leftover pork loin. I followed the recipe, but used a can of chiles and added carrots for extra color. I also added some cumin and chili powder. It turned out full of flavor and very tasty. The family said to make it again. Next time I will use 2 cans of chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Instead of fresh green chilis I used two cans. And I added some frozen corn. But it was fantastic!!! I increased the garlic a little bit too. My husband works on a oil rig so I sent it in a thremos for him to take to work, and I had wives of the other men on his crew calling asking me for the recipe!! New family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZapnTatersMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
this was really yummy! i pretty much followed the recipe exactly with the exception of cutting it in half. it was tasty as is. however next time i think i might omit the garlic and beans (i only added a can of black since i had halved it). i tasted it before the addition of those ingredients and the chili peppers gave it a nice kick that seemed to be overpowered by the garlic and diluted by the juice in the beans. i will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
A good combination of flavors, especially if you like it hot. I used leftover porkchops instead of bacon and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I've made it twice now and it was great both times. The first time I used fresh green chiles and the second I used canned. It was good both times, but spicier with the fresh chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM! Read the reviews on this one and they were mixed, so I was a little hesitant. Well, I thought this was great. It's a great base to tweak the seasonings to your family's liking but we liked it as written. For those who said it was too spicy ~ I don't think the recipe intends you to use jalapenos as your main chile. We used anaheim chiles and roasted them ourselves. You can pick up canned green chiles in the supermarket to skip that step of you wish. The addition of some jalapeno for heat is fine, but leave it at that :)..... This also tastes great with red chiles instead of green - I have made it with New Mexico Red Chiles and it is YUM, YUM, YUM. Very authentic and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
yum yum yum !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States