Southwestern Green Chile with Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
A good combination of flavors, especially if you like it hot. I used leftover porkchops instead of bacon and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I roasted a bone-in pork loin for about two hours in a clay cooker with onions and peppers, then simmered it in the broth for about two more hours until the meat fell off the bones...it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This was a good stew but not as spicy as I expected. Next time will add a couple of jalapenos or something to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I've made it twice now and it was great both times. The first time I used fresh green chiles and the second I used canned. It was good both times, but spicier with the fresh chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I made this stew yesterday and it was very good, altho next time I might pick a less spicy pepper than jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Hate to be the one to bring the rating down but this didn't turn out well at all. I followed recipe exactly but the first thing that went wrong was the amount of pork in the pot - way too much to brown so I had to switch to an electric skillet to fit all the meat in. Second thing was the amount of chiles. I only used 2 fresh jalapenos and that was plenty hot - I can't even imagine 8 of them - it'd be atomic! When it was done simmering it looked like S.O.S.! Unappetizingly gray with some black beans poking through. But when I tasted it, it tasted like spicy mush. Despite it being fairly simple, I won't attempt this one again. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM! Read the reviews on this one and they were mixed, so I was a little hesitant. Well, I thought this was great. It's a great base to tweak the seasonings to your family's liking but we liked it as written. For those who said it was too spicy ~ I don't think the recipe intends you to use jalapenos as your main chile. We used anaheim chiles and roasted them ourselves. You can pick up canned green chiles in the supermarket to skip that step of you wish. The addition of some jalapeno for heat is fine, but leave it at that :)..... This also tastes great with red chiles instead of green - I have made it with New Mexico Red Chiles and it is YUM, YUM, YUM. Very authentic and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very good stew. I did not have black or red beans so substituted with pinto and added cilantro. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Instead of fresh green chilis I used two cans. And I added some frozen corn. But it was fantastic!!! I increased the garlic a little bit too. My husband works on a oil rig so I sent it in a thremos for him to take to work, and I had wives of the other men on his crew calling asking me for the recipe!! New family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZapnTatersMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I usually have another recipe I rely on for this type of stew or soup, but I was running short on time and thought this was a better option. I used leftover pork loin that had a black pepper crust on it, and threw that along with 2 cans of green chiles (instead of fresh) and everything else into the crock pot. Cooked it on high for roughly 3 hours and voila! Delicious soup with just enough kick. I did use only 2 cans of chicken broth and added no additional salt as well. Thanks for the recipe - I can't wait for the leftovers on this snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States