Southwestern Green Chile with Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Instead of fresh green chilis I used two cans. And I added some frozen corn. But it was fantastic!!! I increased the garlic a little bit too. My husband works on a oil rig so I sent it in a thremos for him to take to work, and I had wives of the other men on his crew calling asking me for the recipe!! New family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZapnTatersMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is very, very good. I did make a few changes used 2 cans chicken broth, added 2 cans rotel, added 4 garlic cloves, left out water, added onions, did not dredge meat and fry but used roast already cooked, used large can green chili's and small can jalapeno's. Put it all in a slow cooker and cooked on low overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iowachild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I've made it twice now and it was great both times. The first time I used fresh green chiles and the second I used canned. It was good both times, but spicier with the fresh chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I roasted a bone-in pork loin for about two hours in a clay cooker with onions and peppers, then simmered it in the broth for about two more hours until the meat fell off the bones...it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM! Read the reviews on this one and they were mixed, so I was a little hesitant. Well, I thought this was great. It's a great base to tweak the seasonings to your family's liking but we liked it as written. For those who said it was too spicy ~ I don't think the recipe intends you to use jalapenos as your main chile. We used anaheim chiles and roasted them ourselves. You can pick up canned green chiles in the supermarket to skip that step of you wish. The addition of some jalapeno for heat is fine, but leave it at that :)..... This also tastes great with red chiles instead of green - I have made it with New Mexico Red Chiles and it is YUM, YUM, YUM. Very authentic and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this recipe using leftover pork loin. I followed the recipe, but used a can of chiles and added carrots for extra color. I also added some cumin and chili powder. It turned out full of flavor and very tasty. The family said to make it again. Next time I will use 2 cans of chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very good stew. I did not have black or red beans so substituted with pinto and added cilantro. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
A good combination of flavors, especially if you like it hot. I used leftover porkchops instead of bacon and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
good but soupy. Next time: 1/4 c flour sprinkled on pork pieces, omit water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I thought this was so-so, but has the potentialto be really good. I skipped the flouring of the pork, and used two cans of pinto beans - one drained and one not. Some of the reviews complained about the stew being too watery, so I did not add any of the four cups of water, just the broth and the liquid from one can of beans and it still came out more like a soup than a stew. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, which went well with the other flavors. Overall, it was a little bland. I used very mild green chiles. Next time, I would definitely add one or two hotter chiles, and definitely more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States