Southwestern Green Chile with Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is very, very good. I did make a few changes used 2 cans chicken broth, added 2 cans rotel, added 4 garlic cloves, left out water, added onions, did not dredge meat and fry but used roast already cooked, used large can green chili's and small can jalapeno's. Put it all in a slow cooker and cooked on low overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iowachild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly O.
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This looked like a cozy, warm dish for a winter afternoon, so I really wanted to make it. Problem was, I didn't have all of the ingredients. I compared what I had, versus what the recipe called for, and decided I had enough overlap to at least give it a shot. I used boneless country pork ribs. I didn't have green chiles, but I did have a can of salsa verde. To balance the tartness of the tomatillos I added parsnips and carrots. I used kidney beans instead of black beans and I added pepper flakes to give it a little heat, since I was missing the green chiles. I also had a chayote lying around, so I threw that in, too. It's different from the original, but very good. Definately a nice hearty one-pot dish perfect for a cold day. I'm giving it four stars, only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Next time I'm going to try to original version and maybe adapt it for the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
yum yum yum !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I didn't think it was going to turn out as well as it did. My family loved it. I think I might try it with rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Not sure what to say about this recipe except...blah! Followed the recipe exactly but used canned green chili peppers, not jalapenos. The stew was unattractive when finish and taste was flat. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I usually have another recipe I rely on for this type of stew or soup, but I was running short on time and thought this was a better option. I used leftover pork loin that had a black pepper crust on it, and threw that along with 2 cans of green chiles (instead of fresh) and everything else into the crock pot. Cooked it on high for roughly 3 hours and voila! Delicious soup with just enough kick. I did use only 2 cans of chicken broth and added no additional salt as well. Thanks for the recipe - I can't wait for the leftovers on this snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Instead of fresh green chilis I used two cans. And I added some frozen corn. But it was fantastic!!! I increased the garlic a little bit too. My husband works on a oil rig so I sent it in a thremos for him to take to work, and I had wives of the other men on his crew calling asking me for the recipe!! New family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZapnTatersMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very good stew. I did not have black or red beans so substituted with pinto and added cilantro. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM! Read the reviews on this one and they were mixed, so I was a little hesitant. Well, I thought this was great. It's a great base to tweak the seasonings to your family's liking but we liked it as written. For those who said it was too spicy ~ I don't think the recipe intends you to use jalapenos as your main chile. We used anaheim chiles and roasted them ourselves. You can pick up canned green chiles in the supermarket to skip that step of you wish. The addition of some jalapeno for heat is fine, but leave it at that :)..... This also tastes great with red chiles instead of green - I have made it with New Mexico Red Chiles and it is YUM, YUM, YUM. Very authentic and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Hate to be the one to bring the rating down but this didn't turn out well at all. I followed recipe exactly but the first thing that went wrong was the amount of pork in the pot - way too much to brown so I had to switch to an electric skillet to fit all the meat in. Second thing was the amount of chiles. I only used 2 fresh jalapenos and that was plenty hot - I can't even imagine 8 of them - it'd be atomic! When it was done simmering it looked like S.O.S.! Unappetizingly gray with some black beans poking through. But when I tasted it, it tasted like spicy mush. Despite it being fairly simple, I won't attempt this one again. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States