Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was just great! I halved the recipe and used 1 cup of salsa in place of the diced tomoato. The spices tasted like packaged taco seasoning without all that sodium! What an excellent and easy alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Three pounds of ground meat for 10 servings seemed quite a lot to me. I made this for a leaner taco salad, so I scaled down. Used half a large onion, 1 large garlic clove, 1 tsp oregano, still full Tbs cumin because we love cumin, 1 pound ground turkey with about 2 Tbs lime juice squeezed in while onions were sauteed. Still used the full can of tomatoes since this was for taco salad. I also used crushed white corn tortilla chips to thicken the mixture till it reached the consistency I preferred. This was excellent. It still made quite a lot for a taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I used lean ground turkey and it came out great for tacos (and almost fat-free!). The leftovers were delicious in a taco salad. I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used chunky salsa and added 1/2 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I have tried a similiar dish but never with the cornmeal nor fresh spices - it made a whole lot of diffrence to the texture and taste of the beef. It was much more moist and delish :) Was well worth it .. yummyyyyyyy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampines, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I may have used too much meat for spices. As a result, my husband was not fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spork Boy
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was very tasty, and didn't take a lot of time or effort to make. Just top the tacos and you've got a meal (okay, more like 2 or 3 meals).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spork Boy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I gave this recipe 5 stars. The meat has a very good flavor. I will never buy packaged powder again. It makes a lot. I made it for my family and shared it with a friend that had just had a baby. We still had enough left for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
good stuff! i'm not a fan of the spicey envelopes of salty junk my mom normally uses to make taco meat and i was on the hunt for a replacement. the spices didn't overwealm the rest of the taco and had a super taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oh Girlfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Delicious and tasty. Did not change anything. Everyone loved. Can use in soft tacos. Thanks for sharing. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was great! I'm trying to incorporate more Ground Turkey in our diets. I did cook this longer since I was using low sodium tomatoes & no salt. I also used regular Chile Powder & Chipoptle Chile Powder. Since we can't eat salt you really have to up the other spices. I let this simmer for several hours before adding the cornmeal. We made tacos & it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States