Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by gaarafangirl54
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I am going to say that I didnt follow the recipe to the T BUT I took your concept & directions on how to cook it & I got to say I was happy with the results. With mine I like spicy so I added jalapinos; I also didnt have chili powder so I used adobo; & last I didnt have a can of dinced tomatoes so I used a can of tomato sauce & chopped up some tomatoes & put in in there. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
great recipe. instead of teh cornmeal i used 1 can of tomato paste during the beef being cooked. also, added paprika as well. came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I made this with ground turkey and was a little disappointed that it didn't have more flavor. It was just missing...something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I scaled it down for 4 people and followed the recipe exactly. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
So good!! The cornmeal gives it a nice texture. I added black beans to it so I didn't have to make a veggie to serve with it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was good; however my family voted the recipe called Taco Seasoning 1 is a bigger hit. If you like tomatoes in your taco meat, this one's a winner! Bottom line, both recipes are terrific, healthy alternatives to the packaged seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have made this several times and I love it. The only change I made was that I lessoned the chili powder from 3 tablespoons to 1 (I can't handle the heat.) Besides that this recipe is perfect, thank you for the healthy alternative to beef:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook w/ 'tude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Unfortunately, husband and I did not care for this. I don't know what it was, but it didn't come out as good as I had thought it would. Maybe it was too grainy...? Anyway, whatever it was, we didn't eat it (though I sure tried to, bec. I hate to waste food). I'll just stick to our basic ground beef mix. Thanks for shring the recipe though! It's always fun to try something new. I'll probably try this again, later, just to see if it comes out the same way. Maybe we'll change our minds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I'm sorry, but this was REALLY bland... I did not cut the recipe down and only used 2lbs of ground beef. Thank goodness I had a taco seasoning packet on hand to save the dish. Sorry, won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This beef for taco is very lip-smacking. This is my first time making beef for taco that the entire family truly enjoyed. Compared to taco seasoning mix are normally used in making beef for taco, this blend of spices plus the addition of corn meal produced a very scrumptious dish – very creamy and spicy. I will always use this recipe when making beef for taco. After reading other reviewers’ comments, I used salsa instead of petite diced can tomatoes. This recipe deserves a five star rating. Thanks very much for sharing this unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States