Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Throw out those taco seasoning packets that are just loaded with the extra junk! This is the closest you will get to that, with a lot less sodium and sugar. Flavor can be easily modified to your liking but great as it is written! Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Have made it several times since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Perfect mexican beef! I love the texture created from the corn meal. I used lime cilantro diced tomatoes because I had them, and it gave the meat an extra little kick. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We thought this tasted great, mild, but very good! My husband raved about it and said that he wanted it again sometime. The only change that I made was I added a couple of cans of black beans to bulk this up a bit and to make it last longer. Since there were only three of us eating I made the full amount but froze half of it for a very easy meal in a few weeks. Also, if anyone cares, I used ground turkey since it is healthier. Thanks for sharing this recipe, and we will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I agree with the ratings that said that this was bland. I was hopeful, so tried it anyway. I have a bad palate, but I know what I like, and it was just missing "something." I don't know what! More salt, maybe? And something to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I loved it! My roommate said it was great. People who entered my apartment said it smelled great. This is definitely going down in my recipe book for life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was a very quick and nice take on taco-worthy ground turkey. I used 93/7 turkey, and I drained the tomatoes first. I didn't use any cornmeal, but I would if I had used beef. I also added about a t of paprika and 1/2 t of onion powder to the seasoning mix. What makes this recipe so great is the time, especially if you let it cool and use it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Absolutely AMAZING...No need to say more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.D. Finney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
and cooking the onions and adding the dry spices with garlic till fragrant was the secret to this wonderful taste of this dish. Only used 2 lbs of turkey and used salsa med. and diced tomatoes without juice . Flavorful and quick !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Healthy, delicious, versatile, and easy! I scale this down and use 99% fat free ground turkey breast. I have used tomato sauce in place of the diced tomatoes. Salsa would be good too. I also like to use Chipotle Chile Powder instead of regular for some spice. Mixing in some mushrooms is good too. When served on a whole wheat tortilla with a little shredded cheese, this is a wonderful, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I only had 2 lbs of ground turkey on hand so used that and eye-balled the ingredients to scale them down to size. I then took half of the final product and packaged it for freezing because 2 lbs. seemed like way too much for my husband, 2 small children and myself. OMG. I wish I would have had 3 lbs of turkey!! This was FANTASTIC and my husband had no idea that it wasn't red meat!! We gobbled down the 1 lb. that night. The next day, my husband and I couldn't stop talking about it so I took out the package from the freezer for dinner 2 nights later!Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is officially being added to my "favorites" recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States