Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Three pounds of ground meat for 10 servings seemed quite a lot to me. I made this for a leaner taco salad, so I scaled down. Used half a large onion, 1 large garlic clove, 1 tsp oregano, still full Tbs cumin because we love cumin, 1 pound ground turkey with about 2 Tbs lime juice squeezed in while onions were sauteed. Still used the full can of tomatoes since this was for taco salad. I also used crushed white corn tortilla chips to thicken the mixture till it reached the consistency I preferred. This was excellent. It still made quite a lot for a taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Very good! I used this with ground turkey and since I halved the recipe and did not want to waste half a can of tomatoes, I used a good quality salsa in its place. This made for some tasty tacos and I plan to use up the leftovers with nachos. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I have tried a similiar dish but never with the cornmeal nor fresh spices - it made a whole lot of diffrence to the texture and taste of the beef. It was much more moist and delish :) Was well worth it .. yummyyyyyyy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampines, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I used lean ground turkey and it came out great for tacos (and almost fat-free!). The leftovers were delicious in a taco salad. I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I used chunky salsa and added 1/2 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Delicious and tasty. Did not change anything. Everyone loved. Can use in soft tacos. Thanks for sharing. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
My wife made this and she scaled it down to one pound and then added 2 chipotle peppers from a can and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I loved this recipe! Was very good and tasted perfect with the crunchy taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was an awesome and easy recipe. I used vegitarian ground round and added 1-2 tbsp. Ketchup for added flavour. I also recommend making a side of guaccamole to add to your taco or pita. Very Tasty and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Super tasty! I use this basic recipe for all kinds of dishes. My favorite is taco salad with a dallop of sour cream and guacamole. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
was very good. i used one pound of ground white turkey and 1/2 can of tomatos diced and juice. My kids ate their tacos, my 1 yr old ate alot of the meat, and i had it with a taco salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States