Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is a great option over the seasoning packets. Fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was super! I used 1 lb. of ground turkey, 1 cup of salsa and I used 1/2 cup of Masa (used to made corn torillas) for cornmeal. I used the leftovers to make a SW omelet. I used about 3/4 cup for a 3 egg omelet. It was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is delicious! I used it for a taco salad, and I have some left for the freezer. It will be great for a quick meal, used for burrito filling or chimichangas. The seasonings are perfect, although I had to add quite a bit of salt to taste. Don't be afraid to use the cornmeal as a thickener; it works really well, and it adds a nice taste to the meat. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Killer flavor comes from using your own spices to season this taco meat. I agree with other reviewers - it tastes much better than using a package mix chuck full of sodium. We decided we wanted the meat a little zippier so I added a tablespoon of Chipotle pepper (smoked jalapenos, dried & ground. comes in a jar). Added the cornmeal after simmering 5 min and voila - best taco salad meat ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made with turkey. Left out the cornmeal because I did not have any. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This recipe is the best I have made for Taco Salad! Very easy to make and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAKMAN57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashmore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe is super easy and super tasty! I did not add the cornmeal at the end and thought that I did not miss a thing! LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This worked out great for our family's 1st shot @ Taco Salad! Did as some of the other reviewers, didn't have the cornmeal so used tomato paste instead. Even my picky 7 yr old said "I love the meat!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
tasted better than when i bought store bought seasoning. Didn't have onions so i substituted with dehydrated chopped onion and also used fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Tasted great! I used lean ground turkey and fresh tomatoes. I omitted the cornmeal and used a few tablespoons of tomatoe paste intead. Added a little hot sauce. Went well with soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States