Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is a great option over the seasoning packets. Fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was super! I used 1 lb. of ground turkey, 1 cup of salsa and I used 1/2 cup of Masa (used to made corn torillas) for cornmeal. I used the leftovers to make a SW omelet. I used about 3/4 cup for a 3 egg omelet. It was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is delicious! I used it for a taco salad, and I have some left for the freezer. It will be great for a quick meal, used for burrito filling or chimichangas. The seasonings are perfect, although I had to add quite a bit of salt to taste. Don't be afraid to use the cornmeal as a thickener; it works really well, and it adds a nice taste to the meat. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Killer flavor comes from using your own spices to season this taco meat. I agree with other reviewers - it tastes much better than using a package mix chuck full of sodium. We decided we wanted the meat a little zippier so I added a tablespoon of Chipotle pepper (smoked jalapenos, dried & ground. comes in a jar). Added the cornmeal after simmering 5 min and voila - best taco salad meat ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made with turkey. Left out the cornmeal because I did not have any. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This recipe is the best I have made for Taco Salad! Very easy to make and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAKMAN57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashmore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe is super easy and super tasty! I did not add the cornmeal at the end and thought that I did not miss a thing! LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This worked out great for our family's 1st shot @ Taco Salad! Did as some of the other reviewers, didn't have the cornmeal so used tomato paste instead. Even my picky 7 yr old said "I love the meat!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
tasted better than when i bought store bought seasoning. Didn't have onions so i substituted with dehydrated chopped onion and also used fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Tasted great! I used lean ground turkey and fresh tomatoes. I omitted the cornmeal and used a few tablespoons of tomatoe paste intead. Added a little hot sauce. Went well with soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States