Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I liked it and was surprised by the cornmeal but will try to adjust the seasoning to make it more flavorful. Would still recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Fantastic, added Worcestershire sauce to it at the end to add a bit of tang otherwise it was a bit flat. Was a hit after adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I tried this for taco filling last night and it was wonderfull! My husband loved it. I added red pepper flakes to make it a little more spicy. This will be my "go to" recipe when I want to make tacos. I know it would make a great taco salad too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I've been using this recipe now for about 2 years, so I thought I had better rate it. I make it exactly as written. My family will not eat tacos with beef made any other way. I didn't have some of the ingredients one night and made tacos with a package of spice I had in the cupboard....YUCK!!! Most of supper got chucked that night! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syphira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is a great option over the seasoning packets. Fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was super! I used 1 lb. of ground turkey, 1 cup of salsa and I used 1/2 cup of Masa (used to made corn torillas) for cornmeal. I used the leftovers to make a SW omelet. I used about 3/4 cup for a 3 egg omelet. It was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is delicious! I used it for a taco salad, and I have some left for the freezer. It will be great for a quick meal, used for burrito filling or chimichangas. The seasonings are perfect, although I had to add quite a bit of salt to taste. Don't be afraid to use the cornmeal as a thickener; it works really well, and it adds a nice taste to the meat. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Killer flavor comes from using your own spices to season this taco meat. I agree with other reviewers - it tastes much better than using a package mix chuck full of sodium. We decided we wanted the meat a little zippier so I added a tablespoon of Chipotle pepper (smoked jalapenos, dried & ground. comes in a jar). Added the cornmeal after simmering 5 min and voila - best taco salad meat ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made with turkey. Left out the cornmeal because I did not have any. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This recipe is the best I have made for Taco Salad! Very easy to make and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAKMAN57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashmore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States