Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Unfortunately, husband and I did not care for this. I don't know what it was, but it didn't come out as good as I had thought it would. Maybe it was too grainy...? Anyway, whatever it was, we didn't eat it (though I sure tried to, bec. I hate to waste food). I'll just stick to our basic ground beef mix. Thanks for shring the recipe though! It's always fun to try something new. I'll probably try this again, later, just to see if it comes out the same way. Maybe we'll change our minds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I'm sorry, but this was REALLY bland... I did not cut the recipe down and only used 2lbs of ground beef. Thank goodness I had a taco seasoning packet on hand to save the dish. Sorry, won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This beef for taco is very lip-smacking. This is my first time making beef for taco that the entire family truly enjoyed. Compared to taco seasoning mix are normally used in making beef for taco, this blend of spices plus the addition of corn meal produced a very scrumptious dish – very creamy and spicy. I will always use this recipe when making beef for taco. After reading other reviewers’ comments, I used salsa instead of petite diced can tomatoes. This recipe deserves a five star rating. Thanks very much for sharing this unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
made 1/3 of this recipe with ground turkey. used salsa instead of tomatoes. didn't add salt. a little more subtle than packaged seasoning, but i like that about it. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was quite bland. It tasted much better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani Peoples
Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I had to add so much extra seasoning, real tomato bits, and tomato paste(and some water).I was out of chili powder, I learned after starting this,so I added a Hot taco seas. packet to add flavor. Added more garlic, (1 small diced zucchini to sneak some in) onion, Mexican seasoning, cumin, coriander, salt and pepper. Used a 3lb. pkg. of Ground turkey, so maybe that was why it was so bland? Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great recipe except the spice is a bit bland. Next time I will probably just use a taco seasoning packet with meat and add the canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I just made this for dinner tonight and it was excellent. I added some green peppers to the mix. My boyfriend is a picky eater and he loved this! I will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This recipe was sooo good!I didn't change a thing about it and it was just wonderful. My 10 year old son is a picky eater but he had no problem eating this up. I made it for taco night with some homemade guacamole and sour cream on the side and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is fantastic! We are watching our weight and this was a perfect topping for our salad with tons of veggies. I followed the directions to a tee and made "fiesta dressing" from this site to top it off. It was a wonderful, healthy, filling meal. Will make again for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States