Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was good; however my family voted the recipe called Taco Seasoning 1 is a bigger hit. If you like tomatoes in your taco meat, this one's a winner! Bottom line, both recipes are terrific, healthy alternatives to the packaged seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have made this several times and I love it. The only change I made was that I lessoned the chili powder from 3 tablespoons to 1 (I can't handle the heat.) Besides that this recipe is perfect, thank you for the healthy alternative to beef:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook w/ 'tude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Unfortunately, husband and I did not care for this. I don't know what it was, but it didn't come out as good as I had thought it would. Maybe it was too grainy...? Anyway, whatever it was, we didn't eat it (though I sure tried to, bec. I hate to waste food). I'll just stick to our basic ground beef mix. Thanks for shring the recipe though! It's always fun to try something new. I'll probably try this again, later, just to see if it comes out the same way. Maybe we'll change our minds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I'm sorry, but this was REALLY bland... I did not cut the recipe down and only used 2lbs of ground beef. Thank goodness I had a taco seasoning packet on hand to save the dish. Sorry, won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This beef for taco is very lip-smacking. This is my first time making beef for taco that the entire family truly enjoyed. Compared to taco seasoning mix are normally used in making beef for taco, this blend of spices plus the addition of corn meal produced a very scrumptious dish – very creamy and spicy. I will always use this recipe when making beef for taco. After reading other reviewers’ comments, I used salsa instead of petite diced can tomatoes. This recipe deserves a five star rating. Thanks very much for sharing this unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
made 1/3 of this recipe with ground turkey. used salsa instead of tomatoes. didn't add salt. a little more subtle than packaged seasoning, but i like that about it. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was quite bland. It tasted much better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani Peoples
Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I had to add so much extra seasoning, real tomato bits, and tomato paste(and some water).I was out of chili powder, I learned after starting this,so I added a Hot taco seas. packet to add flavor. Added more garlic, (1 small diced zucchini to sneak some in) onion, Mexican seasoning, cumin, coriander, salt and pepper. Used a 3lb. pkg. of Ground turkey, so maybe that was why it was so bland? Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great recipe except the spice is a bit bland. Next time I will probably just use a taco seasoning packet with meat and add the canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I just made this for dinner tonight and it was excellent. I added some green peppers to the mix. My boyfriend is a picky eater and he loved this! I will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States