Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was really good. I used ground beef and made them as tacos with crunchy shells, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, jalapenos, sour cream and salsa. Loved it. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow as taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Perfect! Like another reviewer said, it tastes just like the seasoning packets but without the dreadful amount of sodium. I usually just throw a bunch of seasonings together when I make tacos, but for some reason never thought to add oregano! Great addition. I used a can of mild Rotel instead of the plain diced tomatoes. Also skipped the cornmeal - didn't feel it was necessary. Hubby is a taco addict so he was a happy camper. Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Awesome turn from boring! Used for taco salad dinner, with a few tweaks of course, and was a hit with the fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrzis SoCerus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I only used a pound of turkey and halved all of the ingredients. I also added a bit of fajita seasoning in addition to the chili powder and, as someone else suggested, used 1 cup of salsa instead of diced tomatoes. Combined with a little cheese, sour cream, and homemade corn and black bean salsa, it was great. A hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Pretty good! My hubby LOVES tacos and routinely "begs" me to make them (more often than I want to lol!). While I enjoyed Pam's preparation, I think I prefer Erica Stewart's microwave tacos a tad better. Having said this, my decision really boils down to whether or not I am making tacos or a taco salad. I think this is much better suited for taco salad, but that's just me. Heck, my my hubs prefers an even simpler approach - fry up a lb. of ground beef, add a packet of taco seasoning and pile into crispy taco shells! I guess there's no one "right" way to eat tacos, so do whatever works for you. :) Served with a side of Mexican rice, frozen strawberry margaritas and all my favorite taco garnishes, this was a decent meal. Thanks for sharing, Ms. Anderson! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Very good, I will never make that terrible packet stuff again. I used salsa in replacement of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is a favorite for my family. I have three kids under 15 and everyone loves this recipe. I only cook 1 pound of meat at a time but still use all the same amount of spices. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Good starting point to know which spices I needed to add. However, I used only 2 lbs ground beef (needed to do something with it ASAP!) and ended up doubling the amount of spices in the recipe as I cooked it. I browned the onion slightly before adding the spices and then the beef. I substituted ancho chili powder and some chipotle chili flakes and powder for the regular chili powder (didn't have). I think tomato sauce or paste would have been better than canned tomatoes. I often use recipes as a starting point, and this was helpful in that way. I've noted the adjustments I made and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was really good!! We used ground chicken, added some bell pepper, and since we ran low on chili powder we added red pepper flakes ... was so delicious.. it did turn out kinda spicy due to the red pepper flakes but thats okay since we love spicy dishes. We will be making this again for sure! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States