Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I agree with the ratings that said that this was bland. I was hopeful, so tried it anyway. I have a bad palate, but I know what I like, and it was just missing "something." I don't know what! More salt, maybe? And something to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I loved it! My roommate said it was great. People who entered my apartment said it smelled great. This is definitely going down in my recipe book for life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was a very quick and nice take on taco-worthy ground turkey. I used 93/7 turkey, and I drained the tomatoes first. I didn't use any cornmeal, but I would if I had used beef. I also added about a t of paprika and 1/2 t of onion powder to the seasoning mix. What makes this recipe so great is the time, especially if you let it cool and use it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Absolutely AMAZING...No need to say more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.D. Finney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
and cooking the onions and adding the dry spices with garlic till fragrant was the secret to this wonderful taste of this dish. Only used 2 lbs of turkey and used salsa med. and diced tomatoes without juice . Flavorful and quick !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Healthy, delicious, versatile, and easy! I scale this down and use 99% fat free ground turkey breast. I have used tomato sauce in place of the diced tomatoes. Salsa would be good too. I also like to use Chipotle Chile Powder instead of regular for some spice. Mixing in some mushrooms is good too. When served on a whole wheat tortilla with a little shredded cheese, this is a wonderful, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I only had 2 lbs of ground turkey on hand so used that and eye-balled the ingredients to scale them down to size. I then took half of the final product and packaged it for freezing because 2 lbs. seemed like way too much for my husband, 2 small children and myself. OMG. I wish I would have had 3 lbs of turkey!! This was FANTASTIC and my husband had no idea that it wasn't red meat!! We gobbled down the 1 lb. that night. The next day, my husband and I couldn't stop talking about it so I took out the package from the freezer for dinner 2 nights later!Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is officially being added to my "favorites" recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Turned out GREAT! It's nice not to have to use the packaged stuff. I did use fresh tomato instead of can, and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yahsclan10

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was really good. I used ground beef and made them as tacos with crunchy shells, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, jalapenos, sour cream and salsa. Loved it. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow as taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Perfect! Like another reviewer said, it tastes just like the seasoning packets but without the dreadful amount of sodium. I usually just throw a bunch of seasonings together when I make tacos, but for some reason never thought to add oregano! Great addition. I used a can of mild Rotel instead of the plain diced tomatoes. Also skipped the cornmeal - didn't feel it was necessary. Hubby is a taco addict so he was a happy camper. Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States