Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The first time I made this, I cut back on the seasonings because I thought it would kill my husband (he's not overly fond of spicy food). It is far better with the called for amounts and still isn't a mouth-burner. It was a huge hit for burritos and for dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I really enjoyed this in soft shell tacos with homemade tortillas. I didn't have the cornmeal, but it was yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe is really good. I have never made my own taco seasoning before and I will never use it again. The only thing is that it needs a little more of a kick to it. It needs something so I guess I will play with it a little bit and see if anything helps. My husband loved them and ate 4 tacos. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is an excellent alternative to the packaged seasoning variety. I was looking for a homemade and authentic tasting taco meat but without the artificial taco seasoning packets you find at the grocery store. I did puree the tomatoes and didn't add as much cumin, just due to personal tastes, and I forgot to add the cornmeal. Delicous and my kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Great recipe! I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This is my Go To Taco meat recipe. It's even better if you make it the day before. Tonight I used the jalapeno-spiked canned tomatoes - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Amazing! I added a little bit of smoke flavoring and an extra chili paper i had. Delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwortman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Very flavorful. I won't be using ground beef anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefextraordinaire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was excellent!! I made no changes and it was a hit and something to put into my rotation. I think I wil try to add black beans next time for more texture and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States