Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was okay but a little bland for my tastes. (I love spice though) My family didn't make comment so it must have been okay for them. I used Mexican oregano which has a different flavor than the Mediterranean type. We used this warm to make taco salad for dinner and it turned out well. I would fix this again, but it didn't make my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong when I attempted this recipe, but it came out so bland that I had to add a packet of seasonings, a can of green chiles, and lots of water so it wasn't so thick. I really had high hopes for this recipe because of all the wonderful reviews I read. Could it have been something I did wrong? One would tend to think that, but then again, how hard can it be to follow the easy directions? However, I am sure that the person who made up this recipe really has a treasure here - I guess I just wasn't the person to discover it! : ) Oh well, I'm glad everyone else enjoyed it so much!! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was great! I'm trying to incorporate more Ground Turkey in our diets. I did cook this longer since I was using low sodium tomatoes & no salt. I also used regular Chile Powder & Chipoptle Chile Powder. Since we can't eat salt you really have to up the other spices. I let this simmer for several hours before adding the cornmeal. We made tacos & it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wow! This was perfect. I used super lean turkey and used hot salsa instead of the tomatoes. Other than the salsa everything else was according to recipe including the cornmeal and it was perfect. Now I can make this on my own to make it lower sodium and it was really quick too!! Will most definitely make this again. Thaks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great flavor! I like the natural ingredients compared to the packaged stuff. I used maltodextrin instead of cornmeal. It added some sweetness that complemented the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Great recipe and definately a keeper. I made this for a party and everyone loved it. Only change i made was cutting the cornmeal to 1/4 c. I won't be going back to the store bought taco seasoning anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The first time I made this, I cut back on the seasonings because I thought it would kill my husband (he's not overly fond of spicy food). It is far better with the called for amounts and still isn't a mouth-burner. It was a huge hit for burritos and for dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I really enjoyed this in soft shell tacos with homemade tortillas. I didn't have the cornmeal, but it was yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe is really good. I have never made my own taco seasoning before and I will never use it again. The only thing is that it needs a little more of a kick to it. It needs something so I guess I will play with it a little bit and see if anything helps. My husband loved them and ate 4 tacos. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States