Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very good recipe. I omit the onions and bell pepper and just add a jar of salsa. It saves on prep time. I really like the consistency once the cornmeal is added. I also add a little cayenne pepper to add some kick. This is my second time making this recipe and it definitely won't be the last. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Great recipie! Very easy to do and cooks quite fast. I added a little red pepper flake to it as well to give it some spiciness. I will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
We enjoyed this with hamburger or chicken. I made it a second time a week later for company and it was devoured. I used mexican chahuahua cheese and fried flour tortillas a little. I placed the meat on 1/2 of the tortilla then added the cheese and folded them over. I allowed the guests to add tomatoes, cilantro, chopped green onions and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe execpt I used shredded chicken and only 1 1/2 lbs so I halved all ingredients except cumin. It turned out fabulous!! My husband gave it a big thumbs up!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Had all the ingredients on hand for a quick dinner. I cut down the recipe to 1# of ground beef, therefore, didn't want to open a whole can of tomatoes for this one recipe. I had some homemade salsa on hand, so used it instead. Didn't really see the need for the cornmeal, so didn't add it. BF liked it, so looks like we'll be having this again. Much better than the package stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin' Care!
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
this is really good however I do agree that 3lbs is a bit much. I would use 1.5lbs of either ground turkey or ground beef. another thing, you can do without the cornmeal. tacos are fun and easy, the key is to pre cook the taco shells, then dress the tacos with your fixings, top with cheese and bake again until cheese is melted. top with sour cream-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Care!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Made this recipe and loved it even more the next day. Initially I used this recipe due to my daughter not being able to have preservatives that are in so many premade seasoning mixes. I will use this recipe for now on. Forget about the seasoning packets This recipe is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Like a previous reviewer I am now following a low sodium diet. I love Mexican food but those "taco seasoning packets" are filled with large amounts of sodium and a big no no!! So when I came upon this recipe it seemed quite simple and there was no salt added to it. I also used the "no salt added" diced tomatoes. We like things spicy so I did add more cumin. I didn't see the need for he corn meal so I left it out all together. This recipe is fabulous! I'll never use the seasoning packets again. My husband LOVES this recipe. We've made tacos, chimichungas and put it on rolls for a a sloppy joe like another poster mentioned. Thanks for the recipe!! One of my best finds here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Our family is following a low-sodium diet and this recipe was perfect with only 1 adjustment. Instead of using the cumin, oregano, salt and chili powder - I simply used approximately 4-5 tablespoons of Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime seasoning. It is sodium free and has all of those spices (plus more) in it. I was also able to find "NO ADDED SALT" diced tomatoes. I also added about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar at the end - it just gave it a different flavor that I liked. I used lean ground turkey. We will eating this with tacos, salads, wheat egg noodles or brown rice. Would also be nice on a roll as a Sloppy Joe type sandwich or on top of a baked potato. The possibilities are endless! This will be added to our regular "rotation" and I would definately recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I cooked this in a slow cooker with added water on low for about 5 hours. I browned and drained the beef first. I did not really like this very much. I don't know if its because of the slow cooker or not, but I cook chili and things like that with the same spices and they never taste funny like this did. Its a great recipe as far as the idea goes, I'm just going to have to look around for another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States