Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
i changed the serving size since all i had on had was 1lb of ground beef. not sure if converter was off, but flavor was too mild, so had to add more spices at end. otherwise seems like a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This recipe as my base was awesome. I tweaked it some. I used Lawry's season salt, paprika, a pinch of onion salt, I am sure I added 2x more cumin than called for in the recipe, two cloves of garlic, a 1/2 tbspn of dried cinnamon, a 1/2 tbspn of cayenne pepper, and I probably used 1/2 the chili powder, I don't cook with olive oil anymore I used clarified butter (ghee), in my cast iron dutch oven. I also added a 32 oz of cannellini beans (Goya) and my 14.5 oz can of tomatoes was the seasoned tomatoes with basil and garlic. I also used a 24 oz of Rao's tomato basil marinara sauce. I add Rao's to everything that requires tomatoes it is fabulous. You don't have to use the entire jar like I did. We ate this as the main meal with corn chips on the side. I loved it. I loved the turkey it was seasoned properly. If I had more time I would have let the turkey sit in the fridge for an hour seasoned maybe next time I will try to follow the recipe less liberally. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee mag
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was very good and a nice substitute to the taco seasoning packets that have a power punch of sodium. The only thing I did differently was to use a can of Rotel as I didn't have tomatoes on hand. BTW - this was better the second day as it gave the flavors a chance to meld. Goodbye taco packets! Thanks Pam for a healthier alternative!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Kids and adults love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esther

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Mmm yummy! I used ground turkey and made some tacos and added lemon to my taco. Will definitely try again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casimira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Mangilao, Mangilao, Guam
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Excellent! I used Rotele tomatoes (tomatoes w/green chilis). Very good. No adjustments necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I felt like this recipe was missing something. It wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungrymartialartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My family enjoyed this recipe - it's a good base with lots to play with. We added half a potato and used mexican seasoned tomatoes and it was good, quick and easy without all the salt = WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is soooo easy and good!! Definitely a keeper and will be making it again. I used ground turkey and only had flour tortillas on hand, so we made burriros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Not enough spices for the amount of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States