Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
These were very good, but a little bland. I tasted the seasoning before rolling and it tasted like plenty of salt. But after cooking, some of the seasonings seemed to mellow. However, I modified the servings, which can change the outcome. Easy fix. The chicken to vegetable ratio was a little heavy on the chicken. I will add more veggies next time. My husband cleaned his plate, so I definitely count that as a win! He's extremely picky and seemed disappointed when he saw the chicken mixture. But once I hold him I was going to wrap it up and fry it, he perked up. I did us egg roll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Amazing egg rolls - 5-stars from this household! I used all of the ingredients listed, with the exception of the oil for frying, as I baked ours. I mixed everything up, and formed the egg rolls. I placed them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and baked them at 450° for 10 minutes, flipping them at the 6 minute make. My DH & DS devoured these in no time flat! I served them with 'Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce' and 'Tasty Spicy Rice Pilaf' both from AR. With school getting ready to start, I plan on making a large batch of them and freezing for a quick meal. Thank you, Jackie, for sharing your recipe, it is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I was making these egg rolls with Barlow's Blackened Catfish (also 5 stars try it as well) so I left out the chicken and I don't care for black beans so I left those out as well. Still awesome! Five Stars! I making 5 more tonight! I baked mine as well to cut down on the calories and they are so good you eat one before you sit down to eat your dinner! Five Stars! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
These were a hit for a family party. I actually cut them in half and served them with a cilantro dipping sauce as an appetizer. I followed the recipe as much as I could but I only had canned corn and I used 8 inch tortillas. I opted to use the larger tortillas since I knew I was cutting them up as an appetizer. I get requests all the time to make them. Now I just quadruple the recipe and keep them in my freezer. This way if I have somewhere to go or have people pop over I can just quickly stick them in my deep-fryer and they are ready to go. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela DeAngelo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These are GREAT!! Followed the recipe exactly, BUT sprayed them with cooking spray and BAKED them at 425 for 15 minutes! PERFECT! And saved a few calories, too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My daughter is the usually the one who inspires me to try recipes and mimic restaurant food items, if I don't when we go out to a family dinner she always picks the same places. She has decided she loves these more than the ones at Chilis, she even said last time we were there that theirs did not taste as good anymore. Unfortunately, these are not too healthy with the frying of tortillas, but I still make them occasionally. To reduce the unhealthiness I just make the filling for lunch without the cheese, and pair it with some beans or quinoa. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
These egg rolls are even better than at a restaurant! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
WooHoo. These were yummy. Made exactly as written except I doubled the corn and omitted the beans. I froze these for a week and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Great recipe! I always order Southwestern egg rolls at chain restaurants, but now I can make it at home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe was perfect the only thing we did different and love was egg roll wrappers instead of tortillas. Tastes great!!!! No need to freeze when using the egg roll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States