Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, except I baked these at 450 degrees for 10 minutes instead of frying, and skipped the freezing part. I have also halved the cheese and doubled the spinach on some batches to make them a little healthier. Very good this way too. At others' suggestion, I served this with "Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce" from this site. These were excellent and healthier than the original recipe. Very yummy!! Next time, I plan to add avocado to the rolls right before rolling. I think they'll be even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
786 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Great recipe. Family acutally preferred the tortilla vs egg roll wrappers. If you want to serve the sauce a chain made famous for these egg rolls, mix: 1/4 cup smashed, fresh avocado (about half of an avocado), 1/4 cup mayonnaise, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1 tbs buttermilk, 1 1/2 tsp white vinegar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp dried parsley, 1/8 tsp onion powder, dash dried dill weed, dash garlic powder, dash pepper. Let the flavors set up overnight prior to serving as it makes the sauce so much better. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Sweet fancy Moses these are yummy! I tripled the ingredients and placed the filling in egg roll wrappers and ended up with about 2 dozen rolls. I baked them and served them with another reviewer's tip on a dipping sauce-the sour cream and salsa mixture. These were incredible! I plan on making more this week and freezing them. One note about freezing these-par bake them prior to popping them in the freezer so the egg roll wrapper doesn't break down. I can't wait to make (and eat!) these again. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Trust me on this -- make this recipe using eggroll wrappers instead of tortillas, roll them up eggroll style and fry them -- no need to freeze them. They are de-lish!! I usually leave out the spinach to make them like a nearby restaurant does. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I left out the spinach,since no one in the family likes it. We're cutting back on fat, so I baked them in the oven at 475 degrees for 15 minutes.They got crispy just like in a deep fat fryer. Served them with sour cream and guacamole! Thanks for sharing, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I made this recipe for dinner tonight and I was extremely pleased with the results. I did, however, modify the recipe slightly. I sauteed the chicken breast with a little salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also used canned chopped green chiles instead of red bell pepper, cilantro instead of parsley and I added a couple squirts of lime juice to the filling toward the final stage of cooking. I used creamed spinach and doubled the amount. I decided to bake them at 425 for 15 minutes (sprayed with cooking spray) and they were crispy and delicious. I served them with cilantro cream sauce from this site. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Wow! This is a great recipe that I fix about once a week. The only thing I changed was no freezing and I bake at 350 covered for 20 to 25 minutes, and I remove the foil after 15 minutes so the tortillas get crispy. I serve with Ranch dressing or SW ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This is just like Chili's! Delicious....I know how to make Philippine egg rolls, so it was a breeze for me to make this. I used egg rolls wrappers, added a little more spinach to make it healthy. Cilantro or parsley, it does not make a difference. Roll the egg rolls tight and seal the eggrolls using water (wet the end. I usually fry it, but lately, I sprayed them with cooking spray and bake...Yummy......For the sauce, I serve it with low fat Ranch dressing( 1 cup dressing plus 1 TBS Chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I had just bought a bunch of canned chicken from Costco and was looking for something to do with it. I just added the drained, canned chicken into the mixture in the pan and broke it apart. I highly recommend this. It also works well with rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. With one can of chicken I felt the need to double the onion (used yellow onion) and bell pepper and needed about 1/2 can or more of black beans. Also, I changed up the other ingredients a bit to suit our taste - eliminated spinach, jalapenos, parsley and cayenne and added 1/2 can diced green chiles, 1/4 tsp. onion powder and fresh ground pepper. Kept the measurements on the seasonings as listed in the recipe. I used soft taco sized flour tortillas but didn't stuff them as full as you would a burrito. I ended up with 6. No need to use toothpicks. Placed them in a 9 x 13 pan lined with heavy duty foil and sprayed with PAM and baked at 425 for about 15-20 minutes. If frozen (not necessary but good option) you'll need to cook longer. Excellent result considering you just cut out a ton of fat by not deep frying. Everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
The entire family loves this! All four of my boys asked me to make this 3 days in a row. Thankfully I quadrupled the recipe and had left overs for them. Its a new family favorite. I did bake them, used cilantro instead of parsley and used green chiles instead of the jalapenos only because it was what I had. I also served with spanish rice 2 and Amy's cilantro cream sauce--both amazing and both from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States