Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I love this recipe and make it often. It is a bit of work but it is worth it. I recently made it for some friends and they were fighting over the last one! I've tried several variations to this, and the original in my opinion is the best. I've tried the baking and while they are good, they are not near as tasty as the deep fried version. I even did a side by side comparison, and the deep fried won hands down. But if you are watching calories, the baked version is still good. I also tried the freezing vs. no freeze and when deep frying, even with them secured with toothpicks the ones I didn't freeze came open during the fry. I serve these with a quick mixed avocado dip (smashed avocados, sour cream, chopped tomato, onions, jalapeno, and cilantro). They are so good and so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coulter, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waverly, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Awesome! I halved the cheese and used whole wheat tortillas for nutrition factor, sprayed with Canola oil and baked at 475 15 min. Hubby went back for more- RARE and I did too- even MORE RARE! They were crunchy and perfect, dipped in just sour cream WOW! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. This was even better then the ones I've had at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe so many times and my husband and I love them! I made these once with the egg roll wrappers, but now I always make them with tortillas and bake them I prefer to make them a little healthier and they still taste great! I also make a dip sometimes to go with them - just put cilantro, avocado, ranch sauce packet (dry) and sour cream or yogurt and blend in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
loved these. cooked in pan with oil - missed the part about freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I made mine in an oven (450F+ heat) and wrapped them in whole wheat tortillas. Very good and lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy to deep fry in a sauce pan with about 1/2 oil. Just roll them around until golden on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Andringa Faber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Like many others, I baked them. 375 for 22 minutes, or until crispy. Cut them into thirds. More than doubled the recipe and used 8" flour tortillas and got 11 out of the batch(33 pieces). Used a whole can of pinto beans (I was out of black beans), added 1 TBSP minced cilantro, 3/4 cup frozen corn kernels and 1/2 cup spinach (these ingredients are more than doubled). Also used a Mexican Four Cheese blend instead of just Monterey Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robgraphics

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I used 3 times the amount of spinach and substituted cheddar jack for monterey jack. Turned out great!! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,074) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States