Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Definitely a 5-star recipe and just like the ones at chili's! These were amazing & everyone loved them! I tripled the ingredients & used three chicken breasts to make sure I'd have enough for everyone to try and have some extras in case anyone wanted another one (by doing this i ended up with about 12 eggrolls) - good thing - because they went fast!! I chopped up/minced a sweet onion instead of green onion & chopped up fresh baby spinach instead of using frozen. I also omitted the cayenne pepper since we didn't have any and some don't care for things very spicy anyway. I used shredded Colby jack cheese since that was all I could find at the store and used the flour tortillas. I made some as the fried version & some as the baked version and both were excellent! Fyi-I also omitted freezing them before cooking them and they stayed together just fine - just used a toothpick to keep them together while cooking them, then take the toothpicks out before serving them. For the dipping sauce I made a guacamole dip (using a packet from the store & fresh avocados) and then added sour cream and some ranch dressing. It turned out really good! Everyone loved the eggrolls (and the sauce), even those that don't like things too spicy, so they had just enough of a 'southwest' kick without going overboard. Will definitely be making these again, I just wish it had made even more the first time so that I could have had some to freeze for next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Excellent! These are also delicious when served with pepper jelly for a dipping sauce.- Conndeerslayer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I host 10 football coaches for appetizers and film study every Monday night for my son's football team. I made these last week and I had SO many compliments. A few even went home and asked their wives to email me for the recipe! I changed just a few things - used pre-diced jalapenos and left out the spinach and cayenne pepper. They still had just the right amount of spice! Instead of frying I baked them at 425 degrees for 15 minutes and the tortillas were nice and crispy. Definitely will make this one again (and again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I love Chili's Southwestern Eggrolls and these came kinda close. Tried to make then healthier with less cheese and more veg. Also pan fried I stead of deep fried. Next time I'll try baking them instead. Oh, and I used Eggroll wrappers instead of tortillas. I used a yogurt ranch dressing for dipping. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
The egg rolls are great .. I used traditional egg roll wrappers in place of the tortillas :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
10/10 would make again. I doubled the recipe then doubled the onions and red bell peppers. I omitted the parsley and the spinach, and I used egg roll wrappers instead of the tortilla. It made about 38 egg rolls. I also tried to recreate the Arby's "Lime-Chili Ranch Sauce" I used the juice of 1 lime (about 2-3 tbsp,) 2/3 cup of ranch dressing, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp paprika. (I haven't tasted the actual arby's Lime-Chili Ranch Sauce in years so I have no clue if its an exact match but it was amazingly good) Freezing Tip: First time I made these I froze them on a baking sheet then put them in a freezer bag. The egg roll wrappers dried out and the edges were chipped. This time I wrapped each individual egg roll in plastic wrap and put them in freezer bags and froze them. To cook I defrost them overnight in the refrigerator and then fried them. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I don't get this fancy. I just roll up mild green pepper and pepper jack cheese in a flour tortilla and fry. Top with sour cream and fresh salsa and some avocado on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I've made this many times. I use egg roll wrappers instead of tortillas. I also refrigerate the filling before stuffing the wrappers and then pop the filled rolls into the freezer before frying. It helps to keep them together and frying evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made these for a work potluck and everyone loved them. I actually ended up making 40, which I thought would take forever, but the process wasn't too brutal. The flavors are amazing!!! I am a cheese lover and the recipe may seem like it calls for too mcuh cheese, but I thought that it was just the right amount, definitely not overwhelming. The only down side was that the egg rolls tend to lose their crispiness fairly quickly; however, they were still amazing! GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I am not an egg roll person at all! When my husband said he was going to make these for our anniversary, I was offended at first. But he promised me I would like it and if not, he would go get me anything else I wanted. I love these! They are super delicious and filling. They freeze great so you can have leftovers (if there are any!). The only change he made was to use egg roll wraps instead of tortillas. They came out crispy and perfect. Great choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Hawley

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,077) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States