Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made these for a work potluck and everyone loved them. I actually ended up making 40, which I thought would take forever, but the process wasn't too brutal. The flavors are amazing!!! I am a cheese lover and the recipe may seem like it calls for too mcuh cheese, but I thought that it was just the right amount, definitely not overwhelming. The only down side was that the egg rolls tend to lose their crispiness fairly quickly; however, they were still amazing! GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I am not an egg roll person at all! When my husband said he was going to make these for our anniversary, I was offended at first. But he promised me I would like it and if not, he would go get me anything else I wanted. I love these! They are super delicious and filling. They freeze great so you can have leftovers (if there are any!). The only change he made was to use egg roll wraps instead of tortillas. They came out crispy and perfect. Great choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I always double or triple it because it is so nice having these in the freezer for when friends come over. It is a little time consuming since you have to chop everything up so small but it's worth it! I serve them with Chipotle Ranch or Spicy Ranch dressing for dipping. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Made these tonight and they were pretty good. Per other reviews, did not use spinach and baked them at 450 for 12 minutes instead of frying. Otherwise, followed recipe as is and it yielded 6 egg rolls. Tortillas came out a bit dry, so will tinker to remedy that (perhaps using egg roll wrappers next time). Great idea to pair with "Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce". Thanks to OP and other reviewers for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Perfection as is! (Don't you love when that happens?) I used carrots instead of red pepper for the kiddies and they flew off the table. Baked at 425 instead of frying and they were still crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcam
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I baked these instead of frying! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made the recipe to the t last time. I thought it was not spicy enough for my family so I added some more cayenne. My very picky adult daughter did not like the taste of the spinach so I used fresh spinach which seemed to fix the complaint the second time. Also I used boneless skinless thighs since I had them. I added a little garlic powder. Its summer here now so I didn't want to fry these. So I did not freeze them instead I brushed oil both top and bottom and baked them at 375 for about 20 minutes till brown on the bottom and then broiled them till tops were brown. I also think calorie conscience could easily cut down on the cheese. Maybe even omit it because the filling is so good which I will experiment with next time. I made a different sauce. I had some left over chipolte and took some sour cream, lime, garlic powder, a pinch of salt and blended well. It added a lot. Guacamole is great. Plain greek yogurt, or salsa all would be great. SO basically just add or take away to your tastes and make your favorite sauce and enjoy. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
You will probably need to increase all of the spices, herbs, and cheese. Very quick and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Delish! My first try ever making egg rolls. I was worried about the cheese. But figured it was a binder. I followed as is except for the measurement part and it came out wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms kathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My family loved this recipe but seriously, you have to double or triple everything to get enough for 3-4 people. I added cilantro and took out the spinach. I went with the flour tortillas and the oven baked method that others suggested. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States