Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Perfection as is! (Don't you love when that happens?) I used carrots instead of red pepper for the kiddies and they flew off the table. Baked at 425 instead of frying and they were still crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcam
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I baked these instead of frying! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made the recipe to the t last time. I thought it was not spicy enough for my family so I added some more cayenne. My very picky adult daughter did not like the taste of the spinach so I used fresh spinach which seemed to fix the complaint the second time. Also I used boneless skinless thighs since I had them. I added a little garlic powder. Its summer here now so I didn't want to fry these. So I did not freeze them instead I brushed oil both top and bottom and baked them at 375 for about 20 minutes till brown on the bottom and then broiled them till tops were brown. I also think calorie conscience could easily cut down on the cheese. Maybe even omit it because the filling is so good which I will experiment with next time. I made a different sauce. I had some left over chipolte and took some sour cream, lime, garlic powder, a pinch of salt and blended well. It added a lot. Guacamole is great. Plain greek yogurt, or salsa all would be great. SO basically just add or take away to your tastes and make your favorite sauce and enjoy. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
You will probably need to increase all of the spices, herbs, and cheese. Very quick and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Delish! My first try ever making egg rolls. I was worried about the cheese. But figured it was a binder. I followed as is except for the measurement part and it came out wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms kathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My family loved this recipe but seriously, you have to double or triple everything to get enough for 3-4 people. I added cilantro and took out the spinach. I went with the flour tortillas and the oven baked method that others suggested. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I could not stop eating these! I subbed egg roll wrappers for the tortillas for ease of rolling. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
LOVED THIS! I skipped the jalepenos & cayenne & added some crushed pepper flakes instead since I don't like a lot of spice. I used 2 chicken breasts since I was making this for dinner & used lots of freshly chopped spinach & corn. I baked these for about 15 minutes and they were AMAZING! My boyfriend loved them! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Terrible. No flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The whole family really liked these. The only thing I don't like about the recipe is it uses such small amounts of some of the ingredients, leaving you with leftovers to use up, and I happen to be horrible at that! So the next time I used 2 large chicken breasts, the whole can of black beans, 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, 1c. corn, 1 bunch of gr. onions, 2 cups pepper jack cheese, and the whole 10oz pkg. frozen spinach. I adjusted the rest of the ingredients/spices accordingly (this amount makes at least 20 egg rolls). Instead of sauteing the chicken and then everything else, I sprinkled taco seasoning and spread salsa on the chicken and baked at 375* for 30 min. Meanwhile, I sauted the bell pepper, then added the spices and everything else except the chicken and cheese. When the chicken was cooked I chopped it finely and just mixed with everything else in a large bowl, along with the cheese. I baked the egg rolls at 450* for 10 min. turned them over and baked another 10 till they were finally golden and at least somewhat crispy. Served it with Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States