Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These were delicious. We grilled some corn on the cob and used that instead of frozen. We skipped the spinach (didn't have any on hand) and didn't freeze them. We also baked them in the oven instead of frying in oil. We will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love this recipe, when we did it we used the amy's cilantro cream sauce with it. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Gray
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very nice recipe, and pretty easy to make. I substituted kale for spinach, and used fresh ingredients instead of frozen, just stir frying them together with the red pepper and onion. I don't deep fry, and instead I pan fried the rolls in a little oil on the stove top, turning them when browned. I didn't freeze the rolls before cooking either and they stayed together nicely, as long as I fried them seam side down first. Husband loved them and wants them again soon. Next time I might try baking them. Served them with a little sour cream and some Cherry Republic green salsa, lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Another great knock-off recipe that uses whatever ingredients you have on hand. I have used pulled pork, rotisserie chicken, all sorts of veggies, and various cheeses. Texas caviar would work very well in these (without the dressing, of course). To cut fat content, I spray the tortillas with olive oil and bake them at 400 for 10-15 minutes, turning once to brown all around. A crowd favorite that always goes fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times. I leave out the beans (don't like beans) and use egg roll wrappers. Did some with tortillas but liked egg roll wrappers best. I always double the recipe. I like these better then the ones at Chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Subbed corn w/trader joes corn salsa. Rolled. Sprayed cookie sheet and rolls w/Pam. 425 15 min, turning 1/2 way. Mixed sour cream w/salsa for dipping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The filling is excellent! I agree with many other reviewers and recommend using egg roll wrappers instead! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this for new years eve and it was a hit! I omitted the jalapeno as I didn't have it on hand and it was still phenominal! Was told to keep on making them for all future parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved these and so did my husband and 1 year old! I didn't have jalapeños or parsley but I put in extra spinach and extra salt and they turned out perfectly. I only put them in the freezer for about and hour and they still fried very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These were so delicious. instead of the tortillas I used egg roll wraps, instead of the parsley I used cilantro, and instead of cayenne I used black pepper. Did not use cumin because I did not have any on hand. I used red, yellow, and green peppers, and didn't use any spinach. I also place a toothpick at the bottom lip before cooking them so they would not come apart. I did not freeze them. I deep fried them for about 3 minutes 3 at a time. They came out amazing. Brought them to work for lunch and had one person try them now everyone wants the recipe. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,074) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States