Southwestern Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These are fantastic!! I used egg roll wrappers, brushed them with olive oil and cooked them in the oven!!! I would make them over and over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Great recipe - but i did make changes. Instead of jalepenos, added a small can of chopped chiles, instead of green onion, i just added regular onion,and instead of parsley, i used cilantro. I also added lime juice and salt to taste. As suggested on previous reviews, i baked instead of frying them at 450 for 15 mins. I sprayed the tortillas with pam, put the mixture in, rolled it, sealed with a couple of toothpicks and placed them on baking sheet. Leave space in between each roll (if you get them too close together the sides will not get crunchy. They turned out great..huge hit at my Bible study. Paired this with Amy's cilantro sauce on this website as well. Thanks for the recipe!! Will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I have never reviewed anything during the 10+ years I have been on this site, until now. What a 5-star killer recipe!! Made it for a family party, and they were gone so fast, I thought someone was playing a prank on me! I followed the recipe as written, and couldn't have been more pleased. My nephews wife demanded the recipe. For your next party, or just for family snacking during the game, make this a go-to recipe. Try the creamy tomatillo avocado sauce (found here) with it for the perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
BETTER THAN ANY RESTURANTS!!! A little time consuming, so I'm glad I doubled the recipe. I have another PERFECT 5 in the freezer for a treat in the not so long future. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Definitely a 5-star recipe and just like the ones at chili's! These were amazing & everyone loved them! I tripled the ingredients & used three chicken breasts to make sure I'd have enough for everyone to try and have some extras in case anyone wanted another one (by doing this i ended up with about 12 eggrolls) - good thing - because they went fast!! I chopped up/minced a sweet onion instead of green onion & chopped up fresh baby spinach instead of using frozen. I also omitted the cayenne pepper since we didn't have any and some don't care for things very spicy anyway. I used shredded Colby jack cheese since that was all I could find at the store and used the flour tortillas. I made some as the fried version & some as the baked version and both were excellent! Fyi-I also omitted freezing them before cooking them and they stayed together just fine - just used a toothpick to keep them together while cooking them, then take the toothpicks out before serving them. For the dipping sauce I made a guacamole dip (using a packet from the store & fresh avocados) and then added sour cream and some ranch dressing. It turned out really good! Everyone loved the eggrolls (and the sauce), even those that don't like things too spicy, so they had just enough of a 'southwest' kick without going overboard. Will definitely be making these again, I just wish it had made even more the first time so that I could have had some to freeze for next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Excellent! These are also delicious when served with pepper jelly for a dipping sauce.- Conndeerslayer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I host 10 football coaches for appetizers and film study every Monday night for my son's football team. I made these last week and I had SO many compliments. A few even went home and asked their wives to email me for the recipe! I changed just a few things - used pre-diced jalapenos and left out the spinach and cayenne pepper. They still had just the right amount of spice! Instead of frying I baked them at 425 degrees for 15 minutes and the tortillas were nice and crispy. Definitely will make this one again (and again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I love Chili's Southwestern Eggrolls and these came kinda close. Tried to make then healthier with less cheese and more veg. Also pan fried I stead of deep fried. Next time I'll try baking them instead. Oh, and I used Eggroll wrappers instead of tortillas. I used a yogurt ranch dressing for dipping. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
The egg rolls are great .. I used traditional egg roll wrappers in place of the tortillas :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
10/10 would make again. I doubled the recipe then doubled the onions and red bell peppers. I omitted the parsley and the spinach, and I used egg roll wrappers instead of the tortilla. It made about 38 egg rolls. I also tried to recreate the Arby's "Lime-Chili Ranch Sauce" I used the juice of 1 lime (about 2-3 tbsp,) 2/3 cup of ranch dressing, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp paprika. (I haven't tasted the actual arby's Lime-Chili Ranch Sauce in years so I have no clue if its an exact match but it was amazingly good) Freezing Tip: First time I made these I froze them on a baking sheet then put them in a freezer bag. The egg roll wrappers dried out and the edges were chipped. This time I wrapped each individual egg roll in plastic wrap and put them in freezer bags and froze them. To cook I defrost them overnight in the refrigerator and then fried them. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,051) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States