Southwestern Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is the best tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Southwestern Chicken Soup Haiku: "Needs a little oomph. I gave a nibble halfway, then added some stuff." I gave the soup a slurp after a few hours, and while very good, I felt that it needed some more flavor - so I threw in a handful of cilantro, and a hefty scoop of AR's "Taco Seasoning I" and it ended up being a fabulous soup. (Oh I also cubed my chicken, not strips.) Like other reviewers, I think it could really shine w/ some black beans too, so when I make it again, I'll do just that, as well as w/ my other small additions. If it thickened up a bit more, I imagine it bordering on chili and rockin' w/ some cheese and sour cream on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good, made with my homemade chicken broth and the cut up chicken from the whole chicken. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was good. I added 1 can of drained black beans and 1 tsp of minced garlic. I also omitted the peppers and chilies for my kids. They loved it and so did my husband and I. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is basically the same recipe I have making for a few years. I double the chicken and boil the breasts and use that seasoned stock along with additional broth. I also use diced tomatoes with green chiles and two to three chopped serrano peppers instead of the reg and green peppers. I alos add two cans drained black beans and two cans of pinto beans. I do cook my onion, peppers, fresh garlic and cumin seeds in oil before adding other ingredients. I also add cilantro toward the end of cooking. This so good on a cold day but its even better the next day after all of the seasonings have blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is a really tasty soup and easy to fix. The only change I made to the recipe was to substitute a can of Original Rotel for the green chilies since I had Rotel on hand. I'll certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good! I, too, used a can of Rotel instead of diced tomatoes. I also added some chili powder, red pepper flakes and used jalapenos instead of diced chiles. I love spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We are going to try adding black beans with the recipe next time. But overall, we really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mommy of Twins Plus 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Plain, simple, and yummy. It was less spicy than I'd anticipated, and it doesn't have much bulk (b/c there's no rice or beans), but it was nice with sour cream and corn chips. I did take the advice of other reviewers and sauteed the chicken in a garlic/spice seasoning, which was nice. If I hadn't done this, I think it would have been too bland for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good. I made this following the recipe exactly and everyone loved it. Next time I think I will add a little less jalepenos because hubby said it was a little hot for him, but tasted great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States