Southwestern Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is the best tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Southwestern Chicken Soup Haiku: "Needs a little oomph. I gave a nibble halfway, then added some stuff." I gave the soup a slurp after a few hours, and while very good, I felt that it needed some more flavor - so I threw in a handful of cilantro, and a hefty scoop of AR's "Taco Seasoning I" and it ended up being a fabulous soup. (Oh I also cubed my chicken, not strips.) Like other reviewers, I think it could really shine w/ some black beans too, so when I make it again, I'll do just that, as well as w/ my other small additions. If it thickened up a bit more, I imagine it bordering on chili and rockin' w/ some cheese and sour cream on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good, made with my homemade chicken broth and the cut up chicken from the whole chicken. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was good. I added 1 can of drained black beans and 1 tsp of minced garlic. I also omitted the peppers and chilies for my kids. They loved it and so did my husband and I. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is basically the same recipe I have making for a few years. I double the chicken and boil the breasts and use that seasoned stock along with additional broth. I also use diced tomatoes with green chiles and two to three chopped serrano peppers instead of the reg and green peppers. I alos add two cans drained black beans and two cans of pinto beans. I do cook my onion, peppers, fresh garlic and cumin seeds in oil before adding other ingredients. I also add cilantro toward the end of cooking. This so good on a cold day but its even better the next day after all of the seasonings have blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is a really tasty soup and easy to fix. The only change I made to the recipe was to substitute a can of Original Rotel for the green chilies since I had Rotel on hand. I'll certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good! I, too, used a can of Rotel instead of diced tomatoes. I also added some chili powder, red pepper flakes and used jalapenos instead of diced chiles. I love spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We are going to try adding black beans with the recipe next time. But overall, we really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mommy of Twins Plus 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Plain, simple, and yummy. It was less spicy than I'd anticipated, and it doesn't have much bulk (b/c there's no rice or beans), but it was nice with sour cream and corn chips. I did take the advice of other reviewers and sauteed the chicken in a garlic/spice seasoning, which was nice. If I hadn't done this, I think it would have been too bland for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good. I made this following the recipe exactly and everyone loved it. Next time I think I will add a little less jalepenos because hubby said it was a little hot for him, but tasted great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States