Southwestern Chicken Pitas with Chipotle Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I don't know how to really rate this recipe because I only tried the sauce. I was wary, and still am. Perhaps it needs to chicken or the pita to make it more palatable. I would probably agree with others that it was quite odd, and didn't seem to agree with the chipotle and peanut butter mix. I'll keep experimenting to see what other options might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very good, though this recipe makes way more sauce than is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was good but the sauce was a little strange for me. I think it definitely needed some honey or sweetness to it. I might try again with a few changes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I like fast and easy and good. This filled them all. I too added olive oil to the rub and used as a marinade then cooked the chicken on the grill. The sauce was great, everyone loved it and I made it as written. My husband not only had seconds but was making sure I made enough for his lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Like others, I used a little less peanut butter because the reviews made me nervous. I happened to love the flavor of the sauce, but my fiance hated it (he found it "offensive"). It definitely is different-tasting, so I think people either love it or hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good with a nice flavor, I added a little more of the Peppers b/c my family likes it spicy. Even my Husband, who does not like chicken, enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This reminded me of a mole sauce recipe I make. Love the sauce, made wraps vs pita's. A definite make again recipe. I too added garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Great recipe! I was looking for something fun and different for a summer dinner and this was it! I agree with other reviewers that this makes a ton of sauce, I will half it next time. It's quite spicy so you don't need a lot. I marinated the chicken for a few hours with those spices and some extra virgin olive oil and then grilled the chicken. It had great flavor. I prefer all meats grilled though. Thanks for the recipe, will make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
When I read the recipe, I was skeptical about the sauce with the combination of chipotle peppers, yogurt and peanut butter. I overlooked this due to the various glowing reviews of the sauce. I wish I trusted my instincts. The sauce ruined an otherwise good recipe. If the sauce combinations of recipes gives you pause, trust your instincts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States