Southwestern Chicken Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was a good dish overall. I did change a few things like added green pepper, corn, and way less onion. Two onions is way to much. Also needs more chcken. This is a fairly expenisve recipe unless you already keep these items on hand, like I do. The tortillas became mushy and melded with the rest of the dish, so it seemed like all the extra work was really for nothing. Next time I am going to make the tortillas very crispy and not bake nearly as long to see if this fixes the problem. I really did not see why you would need to bake this dish for an entire hour when all the ingredients were already cooked so next time I will not do so. I also covered this dish, thank goodness or the top would have been a burnt mess. This is a great base recipe it just needs a bit of tweaking to make it spectacular. I am going to try this a few times until I get it just right for my family. The taste was good though, and overall worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very Good. A few changes since I wanted to used what I had on hand. I just used one can of tomato sauce and 1 can of diced tomatoes as well as not having and salsa so I cooked the chicken in cumin, and mixed the italian herbs in with the sauce. I really liked this though. thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
nice toasted cheese layer on top. I cooked the tortillas crispy to see if that would keep them from being soggy, but it didn't. Great anyway! i used green chiles instead of japelenos b/c it's what i had. No leftovers. baked 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, Morayshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. I did make a few adjustments. 1)I poached the chicken first then shredded. 2)1 can of tomato sauce was 1.5 cups and the 2nd can I had was just as big so I improvised by using 1 cup of Southwestern Salsa and didn't add the fresh salsa. 3)I added a can of black beans. I think I might add corn next time as well. Super easy, super fun, super yummy. I highly recommend! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Too much onion and not enough chicken. Try using one onion instead of two. My husband and I didn't really like this recipe. We won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Funny, when I brought the dish out to the table, my daughter commented that I hadn't made "lasagna" in a while. I used leftover pork roast for this to which I mixed in a can of bean and bacon soup. I made my own enchilada sauce and used up every scrap of leftover cheese in the fridge; cheddar, swiss and mozarella. Delicious and easy. Thanks so much Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I have made so many recipies and this was good. It was a little to salsa for me. I would use a little less. Also, good for leftovers and frozen food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
My wife and I love any food with a little spice to it. I did a few things differant on this recipe to add some extra flavor. First off I rolled the chicken breasts in chili powder and then grilled them till they had black edges on my grill. I put some mesquite wood on the grill to add a little smoke flavor. I used two whole jalepenos to add the extra spice. I used one can of tomatoe sauce and one can of whole tomatoes. Next time I make this I am going to add a few extra tortillas, but will also need to add some water so that it doesn't end up all dry. This is one of the better recipes I have used off of this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norm Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederic, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Absolutely fabuolous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda McC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I've had dishes similar to this. This was OK but nothing spectabular, and perhaps a bit on the dry side. It made a decent dinner but not sure worth a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States