Southwestern Chicken and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delicious and healthy! And easy :) As with most soups, the quantities are pretty flexible. . . I just kind of added more of this or that till it tasted right and had the right amount of liquids and solids, etc. So I ended up doubling the broth, the salsa, and the garlic. I also used 2 cans of chicken instead of frozen. I sauteed the onions and garlic together and browned the chicken with it before adding it to the crockpot. I reduced the cumin a bit and also added about a tsp of chili powder, a Tbsp or so of brown sugar, half a can of green chiles, pepper, and onion salt. Next time I'll add canned diced tomatoes and more sauteed onion. Serve with sour cream, grated mozzerella cheese, fresh cilantro, and chips! It's basically taco soup without the rice :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was very good in the end, but I could see some obvious ways to improve it right off the bat, therefore I did. Brown the chicken whole and then shred it. Since you're dirtying a pan by browing the chicken anyway, add the onions to the pan to sautee first instead of putting straight into the slowcooker. When all is done, use a little of the broth to deglaze the pan with. I could see the amount of cumin called for being really overpowering, so I only used 1 teaspoon, and made up the other with chili powder. I used freshly cooked beans and low sodium broth and this soup was still fairly salty and very flavorful, so beware if you use canned beans and regular salt broth. Rinse the beans really well. I also found I needed to add a lot more broth. I'll be adding this one to our favorite soup folder as everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Delicious! Toward the end, I added a little more chicken broth, but that was the only change it needed. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was okay. Too spicy for my daughter, and I wasn't wowed, but my husband thought it was excellent. Three stars from me, Five from him. The only change I made were to use black beans instead of white (family preference). I used cooked, shredded chicken, and Medium Pace Salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Needed more seasoning (easy fix), will be putting into rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Absolutely awesome! I also did the shredded chicken. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Just okay, nothing special. I didn't have any Thick and Chunky Salsa, so I used my homemade salsa. Maybe it wasn't spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was so great and easy!!! I did make a few modifications. First, we always like having leftovers so I doubled the recipe. While I cooked the chicken in the pan I tossed the pieces in chili powder. I didn't have white beans, so I used one can black beans and one can pinto beans. I also added a bit of cayenne for some extra kick. I'll definitely be making this again! It was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymbersMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Just ran across this recipe the other day and decided to make it today. Cooking now, but have been tasting often. :-) Absolutely delicious. Definitely a keeper! I did add double the chicken broth and a little more Salsa to taste but that was only changes. Will have with crispy corn chips in place of crackers, like I always do with Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States