Southwestern Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe is so tasty and easy to make. I made it for my 16 year old nephew and he said it was AWESOME! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was delicious. My two preschool grandsons and somewhat finicky son-in-law asked for seconds. I used cheddar instead of Mexican cheese and used minute rice instead of regular . Very easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was great!!! I had mild salsa, so I added some chopped pickled jalapenos. To season the chicken, I used lemon-pepper, cumin, and paprika. This is a do-again recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
We made this as main course for a church luncheon and received rave reviews. We served 80 people by making 8 times the recipe and for economy, we used about half as much chicken as the recipe called for, but the full amount of other ingredients. We cut the chicken in 1" pieces and stirred it in. We baked it in 3 commercial sized chafing dish pans, and it took about 3 hours for the rice to get done, but it held well in the chafing dishes at serving time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe was great! Very easy to make and very tasty. I probably used a bit more cheese than called for, but other than that followed the recipe exactly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
WOW. This was a hit! My husband and I were fighting over the leftovers! Since I love corn, I added two cans (one cup?! Come on!), seasoned my chicken with some garlic mesquite seasoning, topped it off with some sharp Cheddar I found in the fridge (for the first time in heaven knows how long, we were out of Mexican cheese) and then just waited. My husband was wary about cream of chicken soup with salsa, but after his first bite, the wariness was replaced with "Wow, hon, this is amazing" followed by a "This tastes like more." And when it tastes like "more" in our house, it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really easy and really good. I added a can of black beans and a can of green chiles and sprinkled the chicken with chile powder so it had some color. I'll definitely be making this often. Would also be good with yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I tripled the recipe and served it to a church crowd. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vaud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
My family absolutely loved it. I kicked it up a notch by adding a little cayenne pepper to the rice mixture and seasoned the chicken with chipotle seasoning. It took more than 45 minutes because the chicken wasn't cooked through (I attribute that to the size of the chicken breasts). Also added a little more rice because it seemed "soupy". When it was done it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My husband and I really loved this recipe. I used a can of whole kernel corn drained instead of frozen, minute rice, and garlic powder instead of onion because this is what I had on hand. I threw in some sliced black olives too. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States