Southwestern Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very good. My only issue was the cook time. I had to cook mine an additional 30mins to get the rice to be done. I think next time I will do it uncovered. I added a can of drained black beans and used already cooked chicken diced up because I had that on hand. It was very yummy. Oh, and I used cream of mushroom soup because that is what I had and used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
WOW. This was a hit! My husband and I were fighting over the leftovers! Since I love corn, I added two cans (one cup?! Come on!), seasoned my chicken with some garlic mesquite seasoning, topped it off with some sharp Cheddar I found in the fridge (for the first time in heaven knows how long, we were out of Mexican cheese) and then just waited. My husband was wary about cream of chicken soup with salsa, but after his first bite, the wariness was replaced with "Wow, hon, this is amazing" followed by a "This tastes like more." And when it tastes like "more" in our house, it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great recipe, but needs a few adjustments to make it 5 stars. First I added 1 can of drained black beans and 2 tsp. of dried onions. I also used garlic powder in place of onion powder. I seasoned the chicken with paprika, cumin & lemon pepper as another reviewer suggested. I had to let mine cook for 1 hr 15 min. Next time I will use brown rice as the white rice got too mushy. Was great as a "dip" with tortilla chips (once the chicken was shredded) and would make a great filler for tortillas. Would also be a great vegetarian recipe without the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was a lot better than I expected. The recipe as is I rate with four stars. The second time I made it, I added about 1 cup chopped onion, 1 can of drained, rinsed and cooked black beans, and about 1/4 cup chopped pickled jalapeño (w/o seeds). With those additions, I'd give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe was great! Very easy to make and very tasty. I probably used a bit more cheese than called for, but other than that followed the recipe exactly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Recipe is really good and so easy to make. I made it just like the recipes calls for and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
We made this as main course for a church luncheon and received rave reviews. We served 80 people by making 8 times the recipe and for economy, we used about half as much chicken as the recipe called for, but the full amount of other ingredients. We cut the chicken in 1" pieces and stirred it in. We baked it in 3 commercial sized chafing dish pans, and it took about 3 hours for the rice to get done, but it held well in the chafing dishes at serving time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Wasn't very impressed. I found it to be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This recipe was fantastic, but only after modifications, which is why I only gave it 4 stars. I omitted the condensed soup and doubled the salsa, used brown rice instead of white, added a good dose of chipolte powder, doubled the corn and added drained black beans. I diced the chicken into bite sized pieces, mixed everything including half the cheese together, topped with remaining cheese and covered with foil to bake. Really yummy and pretty healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was great!!! I had mild salsa, so I added some chopped pickled jalapenos. To season the chicken, I used lemon-pepper, cumin, and paprika. This is a do-again recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States