Southwestern Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
My family absolutely loved it. I kicked it up a notch by adding a little cayenne pepper to the rice mixture and seasoned the chicken with chipotle seasoning. It took more than 45 minutes because the chicken wasn't cooked through (I attribute that to the size of the chicken breasts). Also added a little more rice because it seemed "soupy". When it was done it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
It wasn't so bad. The idea is great. But my alterations were adding kidney beans and peas (as I didn't have corn and couldn't find my black beans). We ate it with Salsa Verde (Doritos) chips. THAT is what made this meal awesome. Otherwise, the dish was bland (even with adding some garlic to the mix and seasoning the chicken). Salt may help, but the chips had sufficient for adding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is a favorite at my house; my husband is always excited when I fix it. The recipe is delicious as written. I have added extra onion or green pepper before. Also, putting extra corn in it and adding black beans is very yummy! This is a simple, one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
the taste was alright, however the kids and husband were not fans. Maybe because I used instant brown rice......probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Maxwell Fish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Easy to throw this onr together. Did not have onion powder at hand so just skipped it. It did take more than on hour to bake. Next time I will season it more too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I cut up the chicken and mixed it in with the other ingredients. Cooked it 15 minutes longer, but the rice was still crunchy. I think it could use more salsa too. Next time, I will pre-cook the rice and add more salsa. Overall, a very satisfying dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Not terribly exciting, but quick and satisfying. I added jalapenos and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I tripled the recipe and served it to a church crowd. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vaud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I double checked this recipe to make sure I'd followed it correctly and I did. I made it as written but my rice came out very soupy. I don't know what happened there. Will not bother making again. Still searching for a good chicken and rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really easy and really good. I added a can of black beans and a can of green chiles and sprinkled the chicken with chile powder so it had some color. I'll definitely be making this often. Would also be good with yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States