Southwestern Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great recipe. I like to try a recipe as written but I didn't have a couple of called for ingredients and made the following changes. I used 8 boneless thighs instead of breast and a can of drained Ro-Tel (tomatoes and green chills) instead of the salsa. I also used 1 cup of rice and an extra 1/2 cup of water. It came our very good. The chicken was very moist and flavorful and it was a visually appealing dish. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
We loved it! It was great! We can also try just eating the rice and putting it with a different meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My husband and I really loved this recipe. I used a can of whole kernel corn drained instead of frozen, minute rice, and garlic powder instead of onion because this is what I had on hand. I threw in some sliced black olives too. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I added a drained can of black beans and more cheese, plus I chopped up the chicken per PP's advice. This was good but still a bit soupy for my taste. Next time I think I'll increase the amount of uncooked rice (I used brown) to about 1 1/4 cups and see if that helps. The taste was just what I was looking for so we will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Quick and easy one dish meal - very little prep time, and only one dish to clean! I followed the recipe exactly. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Fairly basic chicken and rice with a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good recipe, my husband loved it! I changed it up a little too...traded the salsa for a can of Rotel (drained), traded corn for a can of black beans (drained). If I'd had frozen corn, I probably would have left it in. I cooked my rice seperately to avoid the undercooked issue. I sprinkled the cheese with garlic powder, cumin and chili powder. The chicken was cooked PERFECT, fork tender. Put the sauce over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
On the dry and gummy side. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I only give it a 4 out of 5 because I doubled the recipe and the rice was still hard and chewy. I had to put it back in for another 45 minutes for the rice to fully cook. I also added chopped jalapenos and drizzled some Sriracha on top of the chicken to give it some kick and substituted the onion powder with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a great recipe and flexible to make some changes. I added a can of drained, rinsed black beans. I also added some chili powder, salt and pepper. Yum! Loved by the whole family, even my 1 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States