Southwestern Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
My son's Lacrosse schedule changed so I needed a recipe that I had ingredients to, I was glad I made this recipe. Because I had to make do with what I had I did substitute a few things. I used low fat cream of celery soup. Instead of onion powder I lightly sauteed a small onion. Along with the onion I lightly sauteed half a red pepper and added it to the casserole before baking, it added some color to the dish and good flavor. I cut up the chicken into bite size pieces as suggested by others along with adding a can of drained black beans. Next time I would add a bit more rice. I would use one cup rice to 1 1/2 cup water. Every one in my family loved it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliachildren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was great! I added a can of black beans and mild green chiles. I also seasoned the chicken with a little cumin. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Good. We used our homemade salsa, and 2 cans of shredded Chicken from Costco. I left a little of the water from one of the cans, and omitted the 1 cup of water all together since our salsa has a lot of juice. Rice was cooked in 50 minutes, and it was delicious with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I tweaked this for what I had in the kitchen. I used a can of stewed tomatos, can of green chilli, brown rice, chicken thighs and also mixed in velveeta cheese. So, pretty much only used the corn and the cream of chicken in this recipe, but wow it came out sooooo good!! I will be making this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEARLSP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitefish, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Super easy. I also add a can of drained black beans and just substitute in your favorite salsa. My favorite is the double roasted from trader joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Just okay-nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
DO NOT put uncooked rice in this dish & expect it to be soft in 45 minutes ! Use either instant rice, or cooked rice!! It took 20 extra minutes to soften the rice and by that time the chicken was overcooked. I gave this recipe 4 Stars only because the ingredients are correct, it just needs some tweaks. I added a cup of black beans & some garlic and it was a very good mesh of flavors .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good. I boiled my chicken first, then cut it in small pieces and spread evenly over the soup and rice mixture, then I did not add cheese until last 10 minutes. Easier to eat for little kiddos. I served with plain nacho chips, sour cream, and taco sauce. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy's Kitchen
Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe! I have twin newborns and needed something very quick and easy that my fam would like and this was it :). Made a couple of changes...used cream of mushroom soup because that's what I had on hand, used thigh meat rather than breast, used homemade salsa, sprinkled the chicken with chili powder, salt and pepper, used marble cheddar cheese, and topped with french fried onions for extra flavour and crunch. SO yummy, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This recipe was great!! I used an off brand salsa an off brand cream of chicken. a little more rice than it called for.. but will def make again.. Thank you, im eating the leftovers from lastnight right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States