Southwestern Cauliflower and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Good soup! The only change that I made was to use refrigerated shredded potatoes instead of the instant. I added 1 cup of the shredded potatoes with the cauliflower. Next time I might try roasting the cauliflower just to see how that tastes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Hubby and I loved this! Lovely light flavor, with the cauliflower and potato providing "creaminess" without the cream. And just the right amount of kick from the pepper jack. I followed other reviewers' suggestions to substitute 2 red potatoes, diced, for the potato flakes; cooked them right along with the cauliflower. Unlike others, I didn't have a problem at all with the cheese sticking to the pan, probably because my pan is nonstick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I thoroughly loved this soup, made it twice. The 1st time I had to sub regular colby jack mix for pepperjack for the company I was serving and used seasoned potato flakes that I had on hand. The 2nd time I made it, I used the nacho cheese blend that is made from a local company with the pepperflakes and cilanto already in it...man both times, top notch. The one thing I like about this recipe is, that it may look like a cream based soup...without the cream persay and the potato flakes addition. The potato flakes help skip the dislike part on liquid separation in the recipe. Without the cream, a lot of times I see the liquid separating from recipes and makes the recipes look watered down, this nice little step of adding the potato flakes takes that irraition I get right out the window. I might have to use that trick in a few different recipes that I love. Great addition to winter weather soup rotations for sure and soo simple to make. Thank so much, my family truely loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Great soup! I used turkey broth that I had made with the turkey carcass from Thanksgiving, and also the leftover ham from that day. Great use of those things. I had bought cauliflower a couple weeks ago, and blanched and froze it, and it worked wonderfully in this- not mushy at all. I did used more potato flakes than it called for, as I wanted it a tad thicker. I added a healthy amount of salt and pepper (I made my broth salt free, so it needed some). Like others, and like I do with almost all soups that call for cheese, I left the cheese out and allowed my family to add it their bowls. I also chopped up a scallion for the top, as we like onions around here. Very, very easy and quick dinner, perfect for this cold winter's night! Thanks PAPERDOLL2- this one is a keeper for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Yum, freezes well and reheats great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was a relatively simple soup to make, that was extremely well received at my house. I made a few changes, I used an immersion blender, not a food processor; I increased the amount of potato flakes, to help increase the thickness of the soup; and I did not add the cheese into the soup. After reading other reviewers complain about washing cheese out of the their pots, I topped the soup with cheese and cilantro when it was being served. My dad, who is not a big soup fan, took seconds without being asked! That is high praise in my house! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I found this to be a good base recipe, but added carrots and jalapeno at the beginning. When almost done cooking (before blending) I added cilantro, and served it with a little more fresh cilantro and chopped jalapeno on top. I also omitted the potato flakes and used white cheddar cheese, didn't have any pepper jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Loved the taste of this soup, my only complaint like others the cheese doesn't melt, need something like velveeta. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Good soup, although the texture wasn't very attractive. Added more ham then the recipe called for and next time I won't bother with the cilantro, which I don't think added much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Keeper recipe. Added 3 potatoes and boiled them with the cauliflower. Also added 2 bay leaves. Then blended it all. Used about 3/4 cup of cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States