Southwestern Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Outstanding salad and dressing, Myra! We totally enjoyed this combination. I added some cumin to the dressing, and a can of drained kidney beans to the salad. Other than that, we thought this dish was perfect. It has become one of our all time favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Loved the salad. Husband thought it a bit to spicy. Followed the dressing to the tee. Added about 1/2 cup of Birdeys's Mexican veggies and put the salad into a fried tortilla shells and instead of croutons, some fried strips of tortillas. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tax pro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Central City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Very tasty!!! I made a few modifications: Since it's freezing rain outside I passed on grilling the chicken. LOL. I cubed it, marinated it in the fajita seasoning and then stir-fryed it. I added the diced peppers towards the end (rather than adding raw to the lettuce). Let's see...I also skipped that anchovies. :) One last thing, be careful when reading the "1 canned chipotle pepper". I almost read it as "1 can of chipotle peppers" !! Whoa !! That would'a been bad. Good stuff!! Try this one, for sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Couldn't find chipotle peppers so I used 1/2 of a jalepeno. Everyone loved it. Thanks, Michele, Cambridge Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was REALLY GOOD!!! Nice and spicy, my husband and I absolutely loved it. A great all in one meal. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This salad was terrific. I added corn and black beans and few more spices and omitted the anchovies. I brought this to a Southwest/Mexican themed dinner party and it was a hit! One word of caution: it makes a lot of dressing and I made the mistake of dumping it all on the salad and tossing before serving. The lettuce was kinda soaked in dressing. Next time, I will add a little at a time and toss just until the lettuce is coated or serve the dressing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
OMG!!!! this is fantastic! I omitted the anchovies. If you like it hot, leave the seeds in the chipotle when doing the dressing, if you like it more mild, cut pepper in half and run your knife along the inside and scrape away the seeds. You will still get a good smokey flovor without all of the heat. Also I added black beans and corn and instead of croutons I had added crushed blue corn tortillas instead. In the dressing I added some cumin and a pinch of salt. Since I added parm cheese in the dressing I had crumbled some mexican cotija on the salad instead and garnished with avacado slices. What a quick and easy meal. Tastes like alot of work went into it, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My family had this as a quick "lupper" yesterday. It was fast and easy and VERY tastey. Even my son who doesn't much like salads loved it. I used jalapenos for the hot pepper and held the anchovies. I added tinned corn and sliced black olives. It was sweet,salty and spicy. Would be awesome served in a tortilla bowl. mmmmmm next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I cheated and used prepared Caesar dressing and instead of croutons I used corn chips. This is a huge thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States