Southwestern Caesar Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This salad was terrific. I added corn and black beans and few more spices and omitted the anchovies. I brought this to a Southwest/Mexican themed dinner party and it was a hit! One word of caution: it makes a lot of dressing and I made the mistake of dumping it all on the salad and tossing before serving. The lettuce was kinda soaked in dressing. Next time, I will add a little at a time and toss just until the lettuce is coated or serve the dressing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Very tasty!!! I made a few modifications: Since it's freezing rain outside I passed on grilling the chicken. LOL. I cubed it, marinated it in the fajita seasoning and then stir-fryed it. I added the diced peppers towards the end (rather than adding raw to the lettuce). Let's see...I also skipped that anchovies. :) One last thing, be careful when reading the "1 canned chipotle pepper". I almost read it as "1 can of chipotle peppers" !! Whoa !! That would'a been bad. Good stuff!! Try this one, for sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Outstanding salad and dressing, Myra! We totally enjoyed this combination. I added some cumin to the dressing, and a can of drained kidney beans to the salad. Other than that, we thought this dish was perfect. It has become one of our all time favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I took out the chicken, but I did make the salad dressing as the recipe said. It was excellent if you like a little bit of bite to your foods. I really enjoyed this recipe...it was one of my first attempts at making my own salad dressing since I usually just use the pre-made ones. One warning...I fed six people with the amount of salad dressing that was given...and had a huge quantity left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Yum! Very decadent, but very tasty dressing. Next time I will definately use low fat mayo & sour cream, but I just had to try it as is the first time around. My only change was to use a fresh chopped jalapeno instead of the canned chipotle. FYI - let you dressing sit out for a bit before using...otherwise it's pretty solidified. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was an easy recipe. I used all fat free ingredients and it still turned out good. I also added black beans and mexican corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springhill, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Wonderful Myra!! Had to make a very quick and easy dinner last night and this fit the bill. I had leftover chicken in the fridge which saved time. Don't like anchovies so I left those out and made homemade croutons from this site. Hubby and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Dreadful. We took one bite and threw it out. Completely surprised by this one. Thought the ingredients sounded so good. Didn't put the chicken in the dish, just made a regular caesar salad. Way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
OMG!!! This salad is sooooo good!! I prepared it for a family outing and we couldn't stop eating it. The dressing is ABSOLUTE FABULOUSNESS!! The right amount of spicy and sweet and crunch from the chipotle peppers, mayo/mustard and bell peppers. I added tomatoes, avocado, corn and black beans to the mix. I will definitely be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was REALLY GOOD!!! Nice and spicy, my husband and I absolutely loved it. A great all in one meal. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States