Southwestern Cactus Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
You might want to drain and rinse the cactus before adding it to the mix, otherwise it has a very slimy affect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I grew up with "Nopalitos" and as another reviewer stated it important to DRAIN off & RINSE the slime. In my family we use canned sliced jalapenos and sprinkled the juice over the nopalitos too. The amount you use is up to you cuz it could vary from mild to hot. We add approx 1 tsp. crushed oregano, I make this as a summer salad along with carne asada. Remember to refrigerate before serving. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
My family has been making this salad for years. My father doesnt like cilantro, and others not a fan of raw onions, so both are placed on the side if someone wishes to add them in. However, we do add avocado. Just dice it up and toss it in with the other ingredients. It adds so much more to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I love this stuff! I have made it for several parties and it always goes over very well. You should rinse off the cactus though, or atleast drain very well. Good stuff! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen H
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent salad! I use fresh cactus because it's healthier. Clean, dice and boil until tender. Drain & rinse, rinse, rinse! (When you run your fingers through the colander you should not feel any aloe!) Spread out on paper towel and pat dry! (easy and MUCH better than the jarred stuff!) I add chopped black olives and dress it with 1/4 c. each of EVOO & red wine vinegar. Chill well. Top with diced avocado and cojita cheese. Serve over lettuce leaves or a bed of field greens! Some people like to eat it with topotos, almost like a pico de gallo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I was in the produce department today and found fresh clean and cut cactus. So I brought some home and found this recipe -- thank goodness! I didn't think my boyfriend would like cactus (nopales) and he could not get enough! We ate every last morsel. I rinsed the raw cactus beforehand and left out the jalapeno (just didn't feel like heat tonight). Eating it raw in this salad is really good and I've had it this way before. Didn't have time to let the flavors meld since it was last minute but it didn't matter because it was so flavorful, fresh tasting and low calorie. We're trying to incorporate lowfat dishes in our diet so this was a heart-healthy surprise and I will make this many more times to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Ok, you absolutely HAVE to drain and rinse the cactus - straight out of the jar, they are SO salty, and unbelievably slimey. I had to rinse them 5 or 6 times before they weren't horrid. Also, this is really only good an hour or two after it is made. I LOVED it just as soon as it was chilled, but I tried it the next day, and it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This has a cool fresh taste. Having used nopales in other dishes I knew to rinse before using, and used 1 clove of fresh garlic making this a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Larry did not like the slime caused by the aloe. Is cactus something I should eat since I can't have aloe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I found this salad to be quite addictive. I didn't think the garlic salt was necessary but then I was eating it with tortilla chips, so that could be why. Next time I will chop the cactus smaller and eliminate the jalepenos (there were peppers in my can of cactus which made it plenty hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States