Southwestern Cactus Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
My family has been making this salad for years. My father doesnt like cilantro, and others not a fan of raw onions, so both are placed on the side if someone wishes to add them in. However, we do add avocado. Just dice it up and toss it in with the other ingredients. It adds so much more to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Ok, you absolutely HAVE to drain and rinse the cactus - straight out of the jar, they are SO salty, and unbelievably slimey. I had to rinse them 5 or 6 times before they weren't horrid. Also, this is really only good an hour or two after it is made. I LOVED it just as soon as it was chilled, but I tried it the next day, and it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I really liked this! Like other reviews mentioned, I made sure I rinsed, drained and dried the cactus before adding it to the rest of the salad. It was my first time trying cactus, and I found it's pretty good! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This has a cool fresh taste. Having used nopales in other dishes I knew to rinse before using, and used 1 clove of fresh garlic making this a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong but it tasted like turpentine. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I thought it was a good, but not remarkable SALSA. It didn't really strike me as a salad, at all. I also had a problem with slime. I used fresh nopale that I grilled on the BBQ, not from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I did drain & rinse my cactus & didn't experience the sliminess that others had a problem with. My cactus also had peppers already added so I didn't add any more...I just sliced up one of the serranos jarred in w/ the cactus. This was just OK for us...it was definitely something different ... I might like it better once I become more acquainted w/ it. I cut wayy back on the cilantro because it's flavor can be so overwhelming ... I used fresh minced garlic & sprinkled w/ a bit of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is GREAT! Thank you for sharing this recipe. I did not add the jalapeno peppers because my jar of nopales had the jalapeno. My husband and I love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Thanks, Lupe! What a great recipe. I followed it exactly and served with the Southwestern Chicken with Lime Butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I grew up with "Nopalitos" and as another reviewer stated it important to DRAIN off & RINSE the slime. In my family we use canned sliced jalapenos and sprinkled the juice over the nopalitos too. The amount you use is up to you cuz it could vary from mild to hot. We add approx 1 tsp. crushed oregano, I make this as a summer salad along with carne asada. Remember to refrigerate before serving. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States