Southwestern Cactus Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Just saw this recipe for the first time today. I do not know why so many people posted that you have to drain and rinse the nopalitos when the person who submitted the recipe clearly stated that they are to be rinsed, drained, and dried. Why are people posting negative things about a recipe when the clearly have not read the entire recipe? At any rate, the salad is good, I toned down the jalapenos as I don't like that much pepper in my salad. Otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Made this for my hubby. He loved it and ate it just about everyday till it was all gone :-) I'm not a fan of cactus but based on his reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robtandlinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Storm713
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I was skeptical because of all the jalapeños. For a serving of 8 I narrowed it down to 4 jalapeño instead of 5. Also I used an extra tomato. And I added red onion along with white onion to keep the spice but not the heat. First time ever using cactus and I'm satisfied with this recipe. Surprisingly my family enjoyed it as well. Next time I'm gonna add spinach and romaine to give it more of a salad feel. I just kept thinking I should be scooping this up on tortilla chips as a dip. Thanks for the add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen H
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent salad! I use fresh cactus because it's healthier. Clean, dice and boil until tender. Drain & rinse, rinse, rinse! (When you run your fingers through the colander you should not feel any aloe!) Spread out on paper towel and pat dry! (easy and MUCH better than the jarred stuff!) I add chopped black olives and dress it with 1/4 c. each of EVOO & red wine vinegar. Chill well. Top with diced avocado and cojita cheese. Serve over lettuce leaves or a bed of field greens! Some people like to eat it with topotos, almost like a pico de gallo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent. I use canned jalapenos and use the vinegar from the can instead of the lemon or lime juice. I also add some Hass avocado and mix it in to make it creamy. We eat this all the time and it has always been a big hit when we serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
i had this at a work potluck but no one knew how to make it - this is that receipe.. so delicious, healthy, and fresh! thanks for putting up the post so i can continue to make it myself..yum - we added cotija cheese on top too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'd had a jar of nopales on my shelf for quite awhile, not really knowing what to do with it. I saw this recipe and knew what to do! This recipe is just like a salsa - pretty easy, adjustable to your liking. My only thought was to cut the nopales in to small pieces to make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I was in the produce department today and found fresh clean and cut cactus. So I brought some home and found this recipe -- thank goodness! I didn't think my boyfriend would like cactus (nopales) and he could not get enough! We ate every last morsel. I rinsed the raw cactus beforehand and left out the jalapeno (just didn't feel like heat tonight). Eating it raw in this salad is really good and I've had it this way before. Didn't have time to let the flavors meld since it was last minute but it didn't matter because it was so flavorful, fresh tasting and low calorie. We're trying to incorporate lowfat dishes in our diet so this was a heart-healthy surprise and I will make this many more times to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Just what I was looking for! I had bought the cactus salad at our local hispanic grocery store and wanted to find a recipe to duplicate it. Perfect!! The only things I changed was substituted lime juice for the lemon juice. Yummy!! Thanks to all that said to rinse, rinse, rinse the cactus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good! I cooked a roast in the crock pot. Then when the meat was finished I shredded the meat. Put the salad on the meat...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States