Southwestern Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These were the most juicy, tasty burgers ever! I did add an egg and some breadcrumbs. My whole family raved! Definitely making these again, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I used this as a base recipe just based on my families preferences. It is a very tasty and a nice change from boring ol' burgers. I did as others did and just minced the green pepper (with a little jalepeno) and cooked it right on the burger. I also sprinkled a little taco seasoning on the burgers to make it even more "southwestern"...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I've made a lot of burgers on this site and I hate to give a bad review, but this is one of those times.... The sauce for this burger is just not good, not good at all. It is WAY too heavy on the cumin and I love cumin. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I used this recipe for my restaurant... I added two things, chipotle ranch dressing and applewood smoked bacon, well, because in a bar and grill, bacon makes everything that much better! My customers loved every bite, and demanded that i put it on the menu. I of course did not, but continue to run it as a special when i cant think of other things to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Just make the mayo-mix and use it on your burger. I grilled some green pepper and put it on there too. Was way tasty. Served with tortilla soup and corn. YUmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I hate to be the one dissenter, but these were just OK for us... I liked them better than the BF did... He later refered to them as 'nasty' but I think that was a bit harsh, but have you ever heard of a burger a man didn't devour? This one went over like a lead balloon. I do however think this recipe could be salvaged, but don't know if I'll try again, might not be worth the comments from the peanut gallery =) Anyhow, I think the main problem I had with it is WAY too much cumin in the sauce... And cumin is one of my FAVE spices, so if I'm saying that, the flavor is WAY strong... I kind of had my doubts about the proportions when I was making it but thought for once in my life I'd make something as written with no adjustments... Next time I'll trust my gut... Did, however, turn the sauce into a loveley SW vinagrette for a great salad the next night, so it wasn't a complete failure =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These were awesome burgers! Like another reviewer, I added a little cayenne pepper and a splash of hot sauce to the spread mix and they turned out great! Also, I just placed the green pepper slices right into the meat and cooked them on the forman grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These are really good; It's hard to resist gobbling it all down. I didn't use cumin, tomato, onion or lettuce leaves, and it turned out to be a delicious burger. I'd recommend putting mushrooms on it too. Definitely try this if you're tired of just meat and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Wonderful burger! I used hatch fire roasted green chiles. I just pressed them gently into 1 side of the beef patty before cooking. The mayo-mustard condiment was fabulous with this and overall these had a great flavor. I didn't grill though, just cooked them stovetop in my trusty cast iron skillet. Thanks for such a great tasting burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Awesome Burger... I added 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper to give the sauce a kick... along with a couple dashes of hot sauce. But overall, great burger !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States