Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made it tonight with some minor changes. I slightly drained the beans, added a can of drained diced tomatoes & at the last minute added about 1/3 c of leftover rice in an attempt to thicken it. It needs to cook in the crockpot on high much longer than the 20 minutes the recipe said, I ended up finishing it in the microwave so we could eat dinner. The whole family said it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have a wonderful recipe that is in storage (bad year)so I have been looking up variations, and this was the closest. I however remember my recipe having a jar of V8 and use that instead of water or tomato paste, and added in a can of pinto and a can of navy beans. I brown the ground meat (in our case chicken or turkey)with 1 onion, tossed into the crock and used hominy instead of corn due to diverticulitis in our house, with 3 cans of beans and one package of taco seasoning. If you like it spicier you can add green chilies or spicy beans. Slow cook 4 hours and garnish as desired. Very yummy on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I had 8 ounces of already taco seasoned ground beef. I through that and some chopped onion in a big skillet. When it was cooked, I added Mexican flavored stewed tomatoes that I had chopped/squished up, almost a can of black beans, some corn, and a bit of water (not the whole amount). No other seasonings. I let it come to a boil, then covered and let it simmer for a while (40 min?) It was SO good. Topped it with cheese and ate it with cornbread. My dad liked his over potatoes. So easy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I found this recipe a couple years ago and it's something I now make on a regular basis. It's simple, fast, easy, and delicious! In fact, it's on the stove as I'm writing this review. Oh, and I don't change a thing except that I use the "hot" taco seasoning mix and throw in some extra garlic and cumin for personal taste. It is, however, awesome just as submitted. Thanks, Lanay Bien, for posting this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Good and Simmple! I used cooked chicken cut into cubes instead of ground beef, and added chicken broth instead of water. Served it with tortilla scoops! We'll have leftovers as a salsa snack today! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Swapped out the tomato paste for canned diced tomatoes, and served over rice. Will probably add onions when browning ground beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Perfect as is! I wanted to make chili with pre-seasoned taco meat, a can of black beans, and a bag of frozen corn, and this was it! SO easy for a fall weeknight, and everyone loved it because it pretty much just tastes like a taco. I added a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles, and will probably add 2 cans next time. But I love that I could email this recipe to my husband and he could make it exactly like this with no trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Bee in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
this was delicious! i subbed can of diced tomatoes for tomato paste. added onion and garlic before sauteing meat. i added some wheat penne pasta (for my kids). topped with sour cream, cheddar cheese and cilantro. it was a huge hit! we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Well, to be honest, I was not expecting much but everyone in my family loved it. I followed recipe but used 1/2 can tomato past and then full can of MILD rotel...came out awesome! After putting it all together I then threw in crockpot on low for the day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with chilies instead of the tomato paste for more zip..and it had plenty of zip! For those that like less spicy then the plain tomatoes will work just fine. I wanted a side dish to go with meat I already had/didn't want the beef in it so I just left the beef out and used beef broth instead of water. Made 3/4 c of rice (1.5 c when cooked) to serve it over. 3 of us got 2 meals from it....so the rating for 6 servings is accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States