Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This was DELICIOUS. But I changed a couple of things. Instead of the tomato paste, i used a can of diced tomatos. And I poured it over rice and added shredded cheese. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this using ground turkey, dried black beans that I cooked myself, and frozen corn. I also used the Taco Seasoning recipe on this site, instead of a package. It was good, but rather bland. So I added a couple extra tsp's of chili powder and cumin, salt, and pepper. With extra spices, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I found this recipe on here about 6 years ago and have made it ever since. It is a family favorite. I double the beans to stretch it a little farther. I don't drain the beans as the recipe states, so as not to lose all that flavor and nutrition. I add a can of chopped green chili peppers & also a can of stewed tomatoes, chopped up. A lot of times I have ground beef already cooked & drained in the freezer, which makes this about a 10 min. prep meal. A real winner for busy nights. But even if I don't have the ground beef pre-cooked, I cook it in my dutch oven, drain & make this stew in the same pot. I know this is originally a crock pot recipe, but I cook it on the stove. I just bring to a boil, turn down the heat & simmer for about 30 - 45 min. It turns out just great. We eat this with cheese, tortilla chips & sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I really liked this dish. It's kind of a hybrid between chili and soup. Very kid-friendly (once they get over eating beans) and quick to make on a weeknight. I didn't use a slow cooker, just simmered it in the same big pan I cooked the meat in to save on the dishes. Instead of a packet of seasoning, I used Taco Seasoning I from this site. It smells, looks and tastes exactly the same (maybe even better) than a store bought version with a FRACTION of the sodium. We're having the leftovers tonight over baked potatoes with shredded cheese and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really good & kid friendly! I used frz. corn because I had it on hand and prefered to use (1) can of crushed tomatoes instaed of the tomato paste. Added some beef broth only because I was looking for more of a soup than a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
excellent recipe!! i had to double the recipe for my family size. my kids loved it. even my daughter who claims she doesn't like corn; but she scarfed this dish down. the only thing i did differently was added some chopped onion, bell pepper and a can of petite diced tomatoes (plain--no flavor added). and a little extra seasoning to taste. i also added the sour cream directly to the pot and stirred in, instead of adding to individual servings and served with tostitos. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
We LOVE this! I make it with ground turkey to lower the fat. A friend drains the beans, leaves out the water and makes this into a dip. Either way, it's always a hit. Tip: this freezes really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't use water - I used salsa and chicken broth instead. I also drained and rinsed the black beans before putting them into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
My whole family loved this recipe. I used salsa instead of the tomatoes to give it a kick. I will def. make this again. TFS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I loved it and will definately use it again. The whole family enjoyed it because we could eat when ready. Kept very well in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States